1. leerz

    leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    ooh i see, my mistake, I did not read the whole thread, so noobish of me, but anyway, I hope this gets developed further (ie cia support :) ) or a way to boot the leaked cfw from this. saves the power button from death.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  2. peter14ji

    peter14ji Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Cell9 made the CFW for research reasons and he or she is unwilling to compile CIA support which results in piracy.Cell9 has said this in this thread.But he or she also said that 3dsx support will be made shortly.
     
  3. flarn2006

    flarn2006 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Couldn't Cell9 just release the source code? That way if someone wants to add CIA support they could code it in, and Cell9 wouldn't be responsible for piracy.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. Ericss

    Ericss GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    So his problem with adding cia support is that it would let people install games as cias without requiring a GW? In that case, he should be able to avoid that problem by re-enabling the code that checks for the GW cart before booting emuNAND so that you can't run NTR CFW without a GW. It would be no big loss, as NTR CFW is nigh useless without a GW anyway, as it can't run games without one (or am I wrong, cell9?). And GW can already be used to install cias anyway, so it wouldn't be helping piracy in any way.
     
  5. cell9

    cell9 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    Switzerland
    nope, genuine game cards are workable in classic mode and gw card is not required
     
  6. williamcesar2

    williamcesar2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States

    man Palantine CFW is much better than ''ntr-cfw'' ,btw, it's practically useless
     
  7. Ericss

    Ericss GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    I see, my bad. Still, IIRC, the GW firmware NTR CFW is based off only required the GW for booting into GW mode; classic mode worked without it. So maybe you could avoid the piracy problem if (just throwing suggestions) you make it work like that and add cia support only in GW mode (not classic mode). Or if (for some reason) that's unfeasible or too much work, you could make an alternate version that has cia support but requires a GW for both modes.

    I wouldn't say that. I'm grateful that NTR CFW lets me take screenshots. And even though I don't use cheats, it's nice that it has support for them.
     
  8. Lord M

    Lord M GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Country:
    Italy
    "Palpatine" CFW (LOL) have plugin support? can use cheats/screenshot plugin?
     
  9. peter14ji

    peter14ji Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Again,NTR CFW isn't for every user.It provides a solution similar to Xposed framework to do dymanic resource replacement as well as code insert,but i would rather Gateway adopt this idea and cooperate with him or her,just like ctrulib support from smealum.And Cell9(with the id lolanv in duowan)have nothing to do with Gateway.Cell9 claimed that NTR CFW can't play illegal games to protect him or her from lawsuits.China government has sued many people who do piracy-related works.
     
  10. williamcesar2

    williamcesar2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States
    I can use homebrews, BlargSnes, Ninjhax*cough*, backups, tho
    btw homebrews, BlargSnes, Ninjhax*cough*, backups >>>>>> cheats/screenshot :P
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  11. Lord M

    Lord M GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Country:
    Italy
    I not understand... lol, cheat or screenshot plugins works or not? (but maybe its only for NTR CFW, because its a mod of Gateway files, right?)
     
  12. williamcesar2

    williamcesar2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States
    and ?
     
  13. Lord M

    Lord M GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Country:
    Italy
    and Palpatine CFW is not different of NTR CFW??
     
  14. ChrisX930

    ChrisX930 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Palatine CFW is much different than NTR CFW!!!

    PalatineCFW can run backups (installed as cia), homebrew (as cia), No Cheats, No plugins
    NTR CFW can't run backups or homebrews , you have a cheat and plugin system (and screenshots-function, too).
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  15. williamcesar2

    williamcesar2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States

    can run Ninjhax too !
     
  16. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,096
    not trying to split hairs, what you say is mostly correct, but ntr cfw can play homebrew/roms IF you have a gateway card
     
  17. ChrisX930

    ChrisX930 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    788
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You can play Homebrews on SysNAND (without any CFW) too with Gateway, so...
    You need a Gateway or Ninjhax for every CFW/OFW except of Palatine at the moment.
    That's what I want to say :P
     
  18. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,096
    yeah, that pretty much it, fighting back the "maybe THIS can run roms if i do *insert random thing*"
    only the leaked CFW will run roms without any 3DS flashcard(publicly), there is no secret hidden combination of things that will change that....won't stop people asking though :rolleyes:
     
  19. Ericss

    Ericss GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    You can run homebrew? I've never gotten any hb to work on NTR CFW, not even using my GW :unsure:
     
  20. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,096
    oh....i havent actually tested any i dont think, i was just using it for rom hack screenshots :unsure:....i would of thought it would work
     
Draft saved Draft deleted