Loading...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by TheJorsh, Jun 14, 2011.

Jun 14, 2011

Loading... by TheJorsh at 1:52 AM (671 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. TheJorsh
    OP

    Newcomer TheJorsh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    So here's the deal, guys.
    I've had the original R4 for years now, and it's worked fine.
    Now, today, it's stopped working.
    I turn on my DS lite and it starts, but it never gets past the "Loading..." screen.
    Of course this has happened before, the usual solutions are defragmenting, formatting, etc.
    That isn't working.
    I've spent the past 6 hours trying everything I could think of,
    defragmenting,
    reformatting,
    using different microsd cards,
    using different firmwares (original R4 vs Wood R4)
    blowing into the microsd card slot,
    blowing into the DS slot,
    using a different DS lite,
    but still, I just get the same screen.
    Loading...

    Something odd that I noticed, though, was that when the microSD card isn't in the slot, it doesn't give me the usual "couldn't find SD/TF card!" error.
    It just stays on the loading screen.
    I opened the cart up, nothing seemed to be wrong, but I've never actually messed with any sort of SD card slots to begin with, so maybe I just don't know what I should be looking for.

    Any ideas?
    What should I do?

    (And no, I don't need or want a different kind of card.
    This one's good enough for me at the moment.)
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,709
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Are you trying to use an SDHC?
    An original R4 (or 1.1) only works with 2gigs and below
     
  3. TheJorsh
    OP

    Newcomer TheJorsh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, same old regular 2gig micro sd card I've been using since I got the thing.
    (And the others I've tried are also regular 1 and 2 gig ones)

    They're all working with everything else, by the way.
    All the files still show up when I plug 'em into my compy, I can load stuff from them/put stuff on them.
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,709
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Have you tried backing up your card and reformatting with this?
     
  5. TheJorsh
    OP

    Newcomer TheJorsh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    just tried it, all three options, and it didn't work.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. kikuo

    Newcomer kikuo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously,your r4 has broken,for years?i think it is time for you to buy another card.my acekard works very well, i think you can have a try.
     
  7. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds like it's dead after all those years. Buy an Acekard2i, or a SuperCard DSTWO.
     
  8. TheJorsh
    OP

    Newcomer TheJorsh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    ehhhh... I don't really need a newer card right now.
    As cool as the Acekard 2i is, I don't just absolutely have to have one right now.
    I did want one quite a lot a while back, but now I probably wouldn't use it as much.
    All I've really been using my R4 for is the occasional crappy homebrew IRC app when I can't get to my compy, or an extra copy of KORG DS-10 or M01 whenever I end up getting dragged into doing random live performances by friends (which actually seems to happen way more often than it should. XD)
    I also don't really feel like spending the money on anything else at the moment anyway, since I'm about to spend $100~ to get caught up with Club Nintendo for the year. [​IMG]
    I just ordered another R4 for now since it was only 5 bucks.
    ...and I just checked my email and found that it's already been shipped! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page