Loading pre created saves/ help with new akaio

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Crashp, Jan 13, 2011.

Jan 13, 2011
  1. Crashp
    OP

    Newcomer Crashp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I recently upgraded to akaio 1.8.5, but it now the system won't recognize my games I had in progress. Is it possible for me to still use them? It not, is there a way I can load a save file like those found on gamefaqs.com?

    Thanks for the help, it's much appreciated.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    There's an option to change the save format that the games use.
    You probably changed it or used an older AKAIO version that had the old .NDS.SAV extension.
     
  3. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    We need a little bit more info. If you're going from a previous version of AKAIO, you might have set your previous game saves to save as *.nds.sav files. That was the default since 1.4 (I think) and it's the default for the official firmware from AceKard. The current extension is *.sav and there are a few batch converters in Filetemp. You can also change the game saves on a case by case basis. You just need to have AKAIO display all files (I'm not sure you can see *.nds.sav files with the .sav option) and then view the file's properties if I recall correctly. There could be an option there.

    If you're using another card or a PC emulator, there are other steps.

    Gamefaqs has a faq that mentions they only accept save files in Gameshark or Action Replay format to help cut down piracy, but there is an online converter that will change them to RAW format. Google "shunyweb" for the site.
     
  4. Crashp
    OP

    Newcomer Crashp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I think I was using a version older than 1.4. Its been forever since I updated. So you're saying i should change the save type TO .nds.sav?

    And yes, I am using the Acekard 2.1.
     

Share This Page