Loader -4100

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zsakul2, Sep 20, 2008.

Sep 20, 2008

Loader -4100 by zsakul2 at 11:43 AM (15,942 Views / 0 Likes) 105 replies

  1. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    I see quite a few people with "ERROR! Ret = -4100" or something like that but i know its -4100

    Installed dvdx or w/e and changed it too 249..

    Installed CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042.wad once by the wad installer then after multiple fails of error 4100 i just deleted wad installer installed wad manager and then reinstalled CIOS36_rev5-64-v1042.wad without errors.

    Put the .dol in apps folder

    used the patcher to patch my backup oddly it took its original 4,589,824 kb into 4,157,102 kb..?

    Burned using imgburn with 3 speed then when i tried on wii and still got error 4100 i tried at 2 speed still not working.. even tried at 4 speed..

    Then i ran my boot.dol and then it said reading title or something like that then i get error -4100

    I don't hate wanin for leaking it my theory is that he let it leak so he could get a huge leak test to see all the issues in it so when he released it wouldnt have many bugs but idk.. =p we may never know.. or will we in 2 weeks? =0? [​IMG] anyways i did all above heres some info about it all


    "Backup im using is mario kart wii..."

    "I'm still at the firmware update right before the one where they patched the twilight hack"

    "Im in the united states my mario kart wii is ntsc.."

    Please help me tell me all the info you need.. Sure i admit i may use this for piracy but i really will buy the games afterwards if i like them im not a complete pirate i can only say "Aar!" halfway see ^^ but i do intent to use this to backup my games.. I do really own mario kart wii also.. Just telling yall so i wont get flamed..

    I know your going to say its beta and buggy but.. if this is the one the beta testers are using it has to work sides theres already videos on youtube of the leak working.. I also tried wii play ntsc "backup" and it still didnt work i am patching them properly and burning then properly with imgburn.. Someone said something about imgburn not booking them as dvd roms instead it makes them dvd something else idk.. I'll be willing to do anything for someone who gets this work.. I do also plan on getting a modchip at the end of this.. This is persay a placeholder.. Helps appreciated
     


  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Willing to do anything for the guy that helps me... anything *wink*
     
  3. MrN !

    Newcomer MrN ! Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I had -4100, to fix it I had to change my BITSETTING (booktype) on my dvd writer to DVDROM for DVD+R discs.

    [my pioneer DVR-215 didn't actually support setting the bitsetting, so I had to get hacked firmware... but thats a different story]
     
  4. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    Install the CIOS, then the DVDX on 249 - Also, I have heard that booktyping set to dvd-rom helps
     
  5. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Anything -Unzips my pants and lays ontop of emperor..

    I try to change it in imgburn but it asks me what my computers dvd drive is and i don't know.
     
  6. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you just made me throw up a little bit in my mouth
     
  7. MrN !

    Newcomer MrN ! Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    New Zealand
    IMGBurn tells you what your drive is.. all over the place. In the destination box on the write screen for instance.
    If your drive isnt one of the brands listed in imgburns booktype settings, google the model number and "Booktype"
     
  8. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Loving the fast replys.. Atm trying to burn with roxio media manager "a burner" and im trying to burn it as a data disc now.. don't know if that will change anything
     
  9. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Somewhere in the options should be 'burn dvd from image' or 'burn image to dvd' or something.. no? Check the menus.
     
  10. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    So you think burning it like that will make the 4100 error go away
     
  11. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I doubt it. There are a LOT of people having this problem and I expect most would burn an ISO image in this way. But its worth a shot if you have lots of DVD's [​IMG]
     
  12. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    No, use imgburn (its free google search it) to burn the image, set booktyping (little button in the lower right hand corner that looks lik a book) to DVD-ROM. Make sure after you install the new CIOS , you reinstall DVDX on 249 (I was getting error's before I did this as well, but not 100% if it was -4100)
     
  13. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it as samsung.. which is my dvd drive on my pc i found out chose dvd+r for media and then clicked from normal dvd to dvd rom.. now its burning ill see if anything changes..I also have a question is there confirmed way to remove the cios so i can reinstall it to make sure i do steps right

    I redid it with dvd rom i still get -4100... i also uninstalled the cios and reinstalled it and then uninstalled dvdx after reinstalling cios and installed dvdx again on 249..... yay the 8th disc down -,-
     
  14. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    Time to tell us what Wii region/version you have.
     
  15. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    well i live in the united states.. so im guessing ntsc? and version as in the wii firmware is umm let me go check brb : back.. v3.2U
     
  16. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    What game are you trying?
     
  17. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Mario kart wii ntsc....

    In the past ive tried wii play ntsc 2 times
     
  18. MrN !

    Newcomer MrN ! Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I still think its your booktype setting. If you put the most recent disc you burnt back in your drive and fire up imgburn, it'll tell you what booktype it was burnt out (Scroll down the status box)

    The bottom section will give you details of the burnt disc in the drive, eg:
    If the Booktype doesn't say DVD-ROM the booktype setting has not worked and your disc will NOT work with the loader.

    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Disc ID: PRODISC-R03-03
    Book Type: DVD-ROM
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 1
    Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
    Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,491,679
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0
     
  19. sa_king84

    Newcomer sa_king84 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Might want to try this first.

    Might be common knowledge already, but make sure that you Start Backup Loader FIRST, then when it prompts you to insert the game do so.

    I got an error because I forgot to take it out and would not load at all, forgot but got some error, might be the one you got. Anyways rebot the Wii with the game out, then start up backup loader, then put the game in.

    hope it helps.
     
  20. zsakul2
    OP

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Disc ID: 0@P-!-00
    Book Type: DVD-R
    Part Version: 5
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 1
    Track Path: Parallel Track Path (PTP)
    Linear Density: 0.267 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 2,275,158
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 0

    Your right.. Idk what im doing wrong then.

    Tried what you said king i get same error..
     

Share This Page