Hacking Load Multidisc Gamecube Backups from Disc Channel?

rooskie54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
United States
Is it possible to load multidisc (as in multiple games on 1 disc, not a game that requires two discs) gamecube backups from the disc channel? I know to get wii backups working in the disc channel you use CIOSCORP or SoftMii or something similar, but before I go through the process of getting that setup I would just like to know if with Waninkoko's custom MIOS is it possible to load multidisc games from the disc channel.

The only reason I ask is because from my experience Backup Loader Gamma (as a channel) gives me a GCOS menu with the options BOOT DVD and Credits. BOOT DVD prompts me to put a disc in the drive and press A and ultimately doesn't load anything. Loading the GC Backup Launcher (through HBC) gives me a black and white menu where I can choose which game to load. I'm just wondering if I'll get the menu that will actually allow me to choose which disc I want when loading from the disc channel if I were to install something such as CIOSCORP. And if I needed to tweak any settings to make that happen what I would need to do.

Thanks in advance for any help with his.
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
I think you're using an old version of gcos to create the multidisc. Old versions have the Boot DVD option, and only after that it reads the games on disc and compiles a list. But apparently this fails for you. I think this is because it sort of remounts the dvd. And this time the loader doesn't fool the wii into accepting the backup. Normally it would work, because in the first place this application was intended to work with modchips. And a modchip would just load the dvd again correctly.
But the latest gcos immediatly reads the games and displays them in a list, without having to select read DVD first. I think this should work for you
 

WiiBlaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,189
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
Well it works for me, but i'm using Wiigators Mios patcher to get Multi Iso working through the disc channel just press X and then A to install with WiiGators and you just have to press left or right to chose your Game

I have been having problem using Wan's MIOS Patcher, The Multi Game just loads in GCOS but wont load any of the games, This is though the Disc Channel, It Works good through the Backup Loader though
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
WiiBlaster said:
Well it works for me, but i'm using Wiigators Mios patcher to get Multi Iso working through the disc channel just press X and then A to install with WiiGators and you just have to press left or right to chose your Game

Wait, so wiigator's cmios skips the gcos menu and displays a menu of its own?
 

teusjuh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
249
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Wageningen
XP
468
Country
Netherlands
WiiBlaster said:
Well it works for me, but i'm using Wiigators Mios patcher to get Multi Iso working through the disc channel just press X and then A to install with WiiGators and you just have to press left or right to chose your Game

I have been having problem using Wan's MIOS Patcher, The Multi Game just loads in GCOS but wont load any of the games, This is though the Disc Channel, It Works good through the Backup Loader though


same works for me but i have wiigators Mios Patcher and create multi disc with MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F
and on the d pad with left and right i can choose the game and with A start the game
 

WiiBlaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,189
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
kedest said:
WiiBlaster said:
Well it works for me, but i'm using Wiigators Mios patcher to get Multi Iso working through the disc channel just press X and then A to install with WiiGators and you just have to press left or right to chose your Game

Wait, so wiigator's cmios skips the gcos menu and displays a menu of its own?

Wiigators doesn't even load to the GCOS, loads stright into the Backup Laucher from the Disc Channel from there you just press left or right to choose the game
 

innercy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
787
Trophies
0
XP
703
Country
WiiBlaster said:
Wiigators doesn't even load to the GCOS, loads stright into the Backup Laucher from the Disc Channel from there you just press left or right to choose the game

ic. how about single game disc?. can we auto load the game like wii backuplauncher autoboot?.
 

teusjuh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
249
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Wageningen
XP
468
Country
Netherlands
innercy said:
WiiBlaster said:
Wiigators doesn't even load to the GCOS, loads stright into the Backup Laucher from the Disc Channel from there you just press left or right to choose the game

ic. how about single game disc?. can we auto load the game like wii backuplauncher autoboot?.


no you must press A fo auto detect region
then its starts
 

rooskie54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
United States
kedest said:
I think you're using an old version of gcos to create the multidisc. Old versions have the Boot DVD option, and only after that it reads the games on disc and compiles a list. But apparently this fails for you. I think this is because it sort of remounts the dvd. And this time the loader doesn't fool the wii into accepting the backup. Normally it would work, because in the first place this application was intended to work with modchips. And a modchip would just load the dvd again correctly.
But the latest gcos immediatly reads the games and displays them in a list, without having to select read DVD first. I think this should work for you


QUOTE(teusjuh @ Feb 8 2009, 08:03 PM) yes that works

i create multi game discs with ''MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F''
and all games works fine
That's weird because I also use MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F

I'll try WiiGator's MIOS and see if that does the trick, just gotta download the MIOS files as it doesn't seem to work when I try to do an install over wifi (reason why I used waninkoko's in the first place.)
 

teusjuh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
249
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Wageningen
XP
468
Country
Netherlands
rooskie54 said:
kedest said:
I think you're using an old version of gcos to create the multidisc. Old versions have the Boot DVD option, and only after that it reads the games on disc and compiles a list. But apparently this fails for you. I think this is because it sort of remounts the dvd. And this time the loader doesn't fool the wii into accepting the backup. Normally it would work, because in the first place this application was intended to work with modchips. And a modchip would just load the dvd again correctly.
But the latest gcos immediatly reads the games and displays them in a list, without having to select read DVD first. I think this should work for you


QUOTE(teusjuh @ Feb 8 2009, 08:03 PM) yes that works

i create multi game discs with ''MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F''
and all games works fine
That's weird because I also use MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F

I'll try WiiGator's MIOS and see if that does the trick, just gotta download the MIOS files as it doesn't seem to work when I try to do an install over wifi (reason why I used waninkoko's in the first place.)


you must install the mios patcher
but before you press A on the Gamecube controller to install the mios patcher you must press X to activate wii backup launcher compitable
then you press A to install the mios patcher
so its works for me

by the way i have installed softmii 0.9.5 on my wii and i used wiigators Mios patcher with mios version 5
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
rooskie54 said:
kedest said:
I think you're using an old version of gcos to create the multidisc. Old versions have the Boot DVD option, and only after that it reads the games on disc and compiles a list. But apparently this fails for you. I think this is because it sort of remounts the dvd. And this time the loader doesn't fool the wii into accepting the backup. Normally it would work, because in the first place this application was intended to work with modchips. And a modchip would just load the dvd again correctly.
But the latest gcos immediatly reads the games and displays them in a list, without having to select read DVD first. I think this should work for you


QUOTE(teusjuh @ Feb 8 2009, 08:03 PM) yes that works

i create multi game discs with ''MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F''
and all games works fine
That's weird because I also use MultiGame ISO Creator v3.2.4F

I'll try WiiGator's MIOS and see if that does the trick, just gotta download the MIOS files as it doesn't seem to work when I try to do an install over wifi (reason why I used waninkoko's in the first place.)

yeah, then my idea was wrong. 3.2.4 is the latest one. Then I guess it's just incompatible that way at this moment, normally the gcos menu should display the list of games
 

rooskie54

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
282
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
United States
Installing WiiGator's MIOS works with multigame discs from the backup loader channel now, so it's safe to say it will work with CIOSCORP or whatever I end up using.

Thanks for the help guys!
 

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
16,578
Trophies
3
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
26,904
Country
United Kingdom
yup works with softmii / CIOSCORP
biggrin.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    135357153715613756 posts by a single member in a short period of time? that seems like a task that would be better handled by a bot than a human
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    bots vs bots
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A new staff group isn't really needed
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That can go bad say they make the new staff group and then start blaming that specific member for not keeping up with spam removal
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @AdenTheThird, wish it wasn't the case but I unfortunately have no insight into that nor the ability to implement/change anything like that
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Global Moderators don't have that kind of config access
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Banned Spammers a dating web page for bots!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If anything normal mods should just be brought back
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    A limit on how many threads new users can start should be put in place. Simple, non-intrusive, gives mods plenty of time to respond to spam before they can do it again.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Mod power abuse the best kind of abuse!
    +1
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    It's just becoming more and more of an issue and I don't see it stopping until preventative measures are taken.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    back
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its raining hard
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's not rain that's air swimming
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    wowweee someone is on a spam-spree
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i just reported the spam bot
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    lmao okay
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They better have good customer service
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    That is the first time I've ever seen this kind of spam on the TEMP (and I've been here for quite a few years xD)
  • rvtr @ rvtr:
    Surprising. I haven't been active for a while but a couple months ago it seemed like there was at least one spam wave per day.
    rvtr @ rvtr: Surprising. I haven't been active for a while but a couple months ago it seemed like there was...