Legit Birth by Sleep with CFW?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Gaisuto, Jan 18, 2010.

Jan 18, 2010

Legit Birth by Sleep with CFW? by Gaisuto at 2:21 AM (9,070 Views / 0 Likes) 38 replies

  1. Gaisuto
    OP

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    My buddy (who I just reflashed his system, made the thread the other day) has given up on waiting for Birth by Sleep to get cracked and intends to just buy the UMD himself.
    Before he does though, I want to get something clarified, I'm hearing uncertainty and different answers.

    He has the Custom Firmware. He will have the legit UMD. Will it or will it not still play.
    I've heard some say it'll play. I've heard some say if he has CFW then it won't. I've heard some say it won't at all. Which is it. [​IMG]
     


  2. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    As fas as I know, the AP of KH is a anti-memory card. Meaning, the game will not be played if it's beeing read in a memory card. So Im not too sure if it can be played on a CFW'd PSP. I still dont know the details but it might require you to update to the latest OFW
     
  3. Fluto

    Member Fluto A potato in disguise

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    Australia
    do not know some people sad it was fake some people said tits real
     
  4. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    I heard in the original BBS thread that if you run the ISO of it while having the UMD inside, it'll be able to run since it'll redirect the PSP to the UMD drive. So it should work and not force him to have to update his PSP.
     
  5. FullMetalMega

    Newcomer FullMetalMega Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Death City, Nevada
    Country:
    United States


    This confirms the UMD works with CFW.
     
  6. kidisnice87

    Member kidisnice87 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    No it doesn't, because the uploader himself says it doesn't work on his 5.50 Gen D3 and that he's using his 6.20 PSP 2000

    He edited the video for some reason
     
  7. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    How does MX have an Organization cloak when AtW says he made the clothes for the Nobodies?

    And huh. I guess it does work without having to run the ISO at all.
     
  8. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, its true the UMD will not run on CFW GEN, or M33 unless you update to OF 6.20. We think the ISO isn't working because of the following.

    1.It has a CFW check.
    2.It blocks access to the MS until it saves, or beats a boss ect.
    3.The game saves diffrently due to the need of OF 6.20.
    4.Some files may be contained on the UMD, that are needed to play it.

    We meaning the DEV's are working on it. So to play the Kingdom Hearts: Birth By Sleep UMD you need to update to OF 6.20. At least until we crack the AP. [​IMG]
     
  9. neriphis

    Newcomer neriphis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    it works but i hear u have to run the iso with umd in
     
  10. RyougaSaotome

    Newcomer RyougaSaotome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I love how within this thread there is no common answer.

    Would someone who actually owns the ISO please answer the question? x_x
     
  11. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    No. Currently you can't play the iso, because....As, stated above it has AP.
     
  12. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, i hope they decide to put this on PSN later >_>, dont feel like paying 60+ dollars or waiting 3+ weeks to import this.
     
  13. Cavedude

    Member Cavedude GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    It's probably going to be awhile before the crack. But all of us hope within the next few weeks [​IMG]
     
  14. FullMetalMega

    Newcomer FullMetalMega Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Death City, Nevada
    Country:
    United States
    Though I don't see where the uploader said that himself, but I do see where the edit was made now, thanks for clearing that up.
     
  15. kidisnice87

    Member kidisnice87 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    He says it on the comments of the video
     
  16. fkw12

    Member fkw12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    New Zealand
    It will definately run, but before playing the game whatever FW you are on you would need to update to 6.20 and that will clear all traces of CFW so....once you update basically you can play BBS but ONLY BBS (you would need to start buying games from that point on if you wanna play other games)
     
  17. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I haven't been on the PSP scene for a while so I don't know if this has changed, but I believe you can always re-flash CFW back onto the PSP when you're done playing BBS. Nothing has changed (that I'm aware of) in 6.20 to prevent re-flashing CFW. EDIT: Referring to the Pandora method - I've only got the basic understanding of 3000/HEN CFW and concluded that I should just be happy with my PSP 2000.
     
  18. DarkSpace

    Member DarkSpace Custom member title

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that if you start up with a patched iso, you don't need to update. Also does anyone have the game so I can have some definitive answers. Sorry if I seem demanding, I just want to make sure before I order.
     
  19. fkw12

    Member fkw12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    New Zealand
    yeah, you mentioned it at the end- if you own a psp 3k it's impossible to go back once you update your FW version above 5.03
    ...so basically, if you have a 3k, and you buy the BBS UMD, it will prompt you to update to 6.20 on start up (otherwise impossible to play) and once you cross that river, there aint no goin back. You need to buy games from that point on xD

    If you are talkin 2K with earlier motherboards then yeah you can use the pandora to go back to earlier FW versions after updating but that means every time you pop in the BBS UMD you would have to update, and when you are done, pandora it back to your CFW version- that's tedious and time consumin

    the best bet at the moment I believe is to either wait more for a workin ISO of BBS or go OFW full time.
     
  20. RyougaSaotome

    Newcomer RyougaSaotome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    If you have an earlier motherboard 2000, pandora'ing really isn't all that time consuming. At most a 5 minute process to be honest.
     

Share This Page