1. Skeet1983

    OP Skeet1983 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,502
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Sager NP9377 laptop that currently has 8GB RAM. I can upgrade it up to 24GB. I am wanting to get Mass Effect Andromeda when it comes out. Anyway, MEA requires 8GB RAM, but recommended is 16GB RAM. Anyone think it is worth upgrading my RAM, or would 8GB be enough to run this game good? Honestly, I never had a computer game before where 16 was suggested/recommended for RAM... Thoughts on this appreciated :)
     
  2. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,098
    Country:
    United States
    24 isn't needed unless you do large video/picture editing. 16gb is also more than enough for most games anyway. Also look up Can I Run It, it'll tell you if your laptop can play the game or not
     
  3. raystriker

    raystriker The powers that be
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    India
    Just add another identical 8GB stick and you'll be set for good
     
  4. RaMon90

    RaMon90 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    Italy
    A game like batman which i couldn't play because of the stuttering all the time, required at least 12gb ram.
    As for mass effect, recommended doesn't mean you gonna play bad with 8 gb of ram. Maybe when you max your menu settings, so try a demo if there's one.
     
  5. Skeet1983

    OP Skeet1983 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,502
    Country:
    United States
    Does it have to be same manufacturer, or just identical specs (type, speed, etc.)?
     
  6. nero99

    nero99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,098
    Country:
    United States
    you talking about batman arkham knight? because if you are, recommended and max memory is only 8gb with 2-4gb of gpu memory. that game stuttered so bad because it was badly optimized at pc launch.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    its always best to get the same manufacture.
     
  7. raystriker

    raystriker The powers that be
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    India
    You should get the same speed or your whole system will get limited to the speed of the slower stick. Timings and CAS latency should match too for best results
     
  8. RaMon90

    RaMon90 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    Italy
    Yeah that game, apparently it requires more ram only on windows 10. Regardless i would add maximum 16gb ram, I know it won't be useful for most games right now.
     
  9. Skeet1983

    OP Skeet1983 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,502
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know what Manufacturer is for the current 8GB RAM stick. My laptop has 4 RAM slots, but only 2 are user accessible and the 8GB stick is in one of the non user accessible slots. 8GB stick was already installed when I got laptop. Would it really be ok to get another 8GB stick, even though it will most likely not be same manufacturer? Also, anyone have an idea why ME:A recommends 16GB system RAM? Thoughts on all this appreciated :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Andromeda, Question, Upgrade