Gaming Laptop just arrived!

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
I just ordered a laptop last thursday for a reasonable price, and it ran out of stock on friday:
http://www.costco.ca/Browse/Product.aspx?P...p=C&topnav=

It just arrived at my house and i can't wait to use it
biggrin.gif
.

EDIT: Also a question, so i stick to my laptop instead of from one laptop to the other desktop? I would get quite confused cause i download lots of stuff (not pronz).
 

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
_Chaz_ said:
Bently said:
_Chaz_ said:
Rydian said:
Uh.

What?
ani132.gif


Ditto.

Lol, what seems to be the problem? Maybe its just my writing... I feel sleepy right now for some reason.
What exactly were you asking in that edit question?

Oh, okay sorry bout that. Was trying to rush out the edit before you guys replied.

Heres the question:
"Should I use my laptop daily or use both my desktop and laptop? , because it seems like a nuisance to switch from the two computers with all my stuff on it, and i would get confused".
 

Bulit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
150
Country
United States
Bently said:
_Chaz_ said:
Bently said:
_Chaz_ said:
Rydian said:
Uh.

What?
ani132.gif


Ditto.

Lol, what seems to be the problem? Maybe its just my writing... I feel sleepy right now for some reason.
What exactly were you asking in that edit question?

Oh, okay sorry bout that. Was trying to rush out the edit before you guys replied.

Heres the question:
"Should I use my laptop daily or use both my desktop and laptop? , because it seems like a nuisance to switch from the two computers with all my stuff on it, and i would get confused".
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...
 

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
Bulit said:
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...

Im pretty sure the laptop can also handle mild video converting + hd video playback. Probably not on the games end (unless its low-med ended games).
 

Bulit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
150
Country
United States
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...

Im pretty sure the laptop can also handle mild video converting + hd video playback. Probably not on the games end (unless its low-med ended games).
nevermind...
 

_Chaz_

GBAtemp's Official Mook™
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
5,698
Trophies
0
XP
753
Country
United States
It's really up to you and your daily schedule.
If you want to use the laptop or are away from your desktop a lot of the time, you could use your laptop for most of the things you normally do, provided that the tasks are not too taxing on it.
 

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
Bulit said:
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...

Im pretty sure the laptop can also handle mild video converting + hd video playback. Probably not on the games end (unless its low-med ended games).
With a turion II X2 64?
That processor is old.
Although i'm not sure if your desktop's processor is any better...

Uhm, my desktop processor is :

Intel Pentium D(ual-Core) 3.2ghz.
 

Bulit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
Visit site
XP
150
Country
United States
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...

Im pretty sure the laptop can also handle mild video converting + hd video playback. Probably not on the games end (unless its low-med ended games).
With a turion II X2 64?
That processor is old.
Although i'm not sure if your desktop's processor is any better...

Uhm, my desktop processor is :

Intel Pentium D(ual-Core) 3.2ghz.
Yeah, I looked up your laptop's processor and it was released in may 2010!
I had no idea.
But your desktop's processor is still way better.
 

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
_Chaz_ said:
It's really up to you and your daily schedule.
If you want to use the laptop or are away from your desktop a lot of the time, you could use your laptop for most of the things you normally do, provided that the tasks are not too taxing on it.

Mmk, thanks for the reply
biggrin.gif
. I'll probably be using my laptop a lot then.


QUOTE(Bulit @ Oct 25 2010, 07:28 PM) Yeah, I looked up your laptop's processor and it was released in may 2010!
I had no idea.
But your desktop's processor is still way better.

Lol, depends really.
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,704
Trophies
2
Age
34
XP
6,828
Country
United States
Bulit said:
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Bently said:
Bulit said:
Ah, I see.
Use your laptop for general purposes,
and use your desktop for tasks that use the cpu more: like video converting, pc games, hd video playback, etc...

Im pretty sure the laptop can also handle mild video converting + hd video playback. Probably not on the games end (unless its low-med ended games).
With a turion II X2 64?
That processor is old.
Although i'm not sure if your desktop's processor is any better...

Uhm, my desktop processor is :

Intel Pentium D(ual-Core) 3.2ghz.
Yeah, I looked up your laptop's processor and it was released in may 2010!
I had no idea.
But your desktop's processor is still way better.
a turion II X2 will run circles around an old pentium D
my athlon II X2 probably does too
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,716
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,873
Country
In that case, I would use the desktop for storage or acting as a server, and the laptop for everything else. As Joe said, Pentium D is weak.

Although, in my case, I just use my computer with both monitors and have one or both laptops doing minor stuff on the L shaped desk around me. Sometimes I extend the media laptop onto the main monitor, or use the main monitor for console gaming (since they're all plugged into it at once). I like to use my space and screens/laptops/consoles efficiently like that.
 

Bently

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
494
Trophies
1
Location
Ontario
XP
325
Country
Canada
ProtoKun7 said:
If applicable, set up a Homegroup?

Eh, thats a bit too much trouble for me
smile.gif
.

@Joe88 + originality

Kay, thanks for the replies. I'll probably be using my desktop for hosting a server or going on MSN while at home.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Use a large flash drive, lol. That, and do setup the homegroup, provided both computers actually do use windows 7, it's really not all that much of a hassle lol.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    How's you?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    pretty alright, just showered
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Just saw what happened in chat lol
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    with the meme child?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    spouting nonsense and throwing baseless accusations won't get them anywhere
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's true
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Honestly, when will they learn.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Right now I'm re-calibrating the laser for my SCPH-1002
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    As many of the earlier models are prone to failure
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'm so glad the boyfriend his laser still functions without any issue
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The eBay listing said that it won't read discs, but it actually does although FMV is laggy as well as CDDA. So it most definitely needs re-calibrating.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I wish I could get things from ebay, just sit there and spend tonnes of money
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    m4x, you're a new user but very knowledgeable and helpful on the forums - why did it take you so long to register?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene,
    Now the spindle doesn't seem to spin properly :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Might have to go figure
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    I have autism and am quite knowledgeable when it comes to computers.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    check the wiring on it, might have gotten loose over the years
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    My brain works differently to other people.
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    sure, but most new users wouldn't be answering ds + gba questions. == we are lucky to have you, thanks!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why it took so long is because I've been on Discord throughout my life, but have met a lot of toxic people on there and was always treated a lot like shit.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp,
    Thank you so much! :)
    +1
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @cearp, Thank you so much! :) +1