Korean Wii running NTSC Discs problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Divinebaboon, Aug 8, 2009.

Aug 8, 2009
  1. Divinebaboon
    OP

    Newcomer Divinebaboon Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi recently during my trip to Asian I picked up a Korean Wii pre laoded with all the cIOS and Homebrew Channel and flashed with Japanese Menu, so I used anyregionchanger and made the menu English, then I went ahead and loaded my usb card with neogamma, backup loader, gecko os, softchip loader, you name it. I play backups fine with any of those loaders. But recently I bought my first non-backup NTSC disc, Super Smash Bros Brawl from my local gamestop, and when I put it in it shows up as the first thing on my channel menu, with pictures and all. so i clicked it and after some black screen with weird colicky noise from my wii later, The screen becomes white with the message "an error has occurred, please eject the disc". Then I tried to run it with the loaders, at first wit hdefault settings, then changing the language to english, forcing NTSC, no luck, same old message. Is it something wrong with the disc? I did notice the inner circle of the disc(where you put your finger around) is somewhat scruffy...
    Any help is appreciated, thank you.
     
  2. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    yikes, could be the dreaded dual layer disc problem with the drive...

    Can you Try booting it through the latest distro of GeckoOS from http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Geck:wtf:S and see if it will at least boot?

    This will help us determine if the issue is the fact that ssbb is a dual layer disc, or if the issue is that it's a legit ntsc disc.
     
  3. Divinebaboon
    OP

    Newcomer Divinebaboon Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it, same error, should I change something in the settings?
     
  4. rejinx

    Newcomer rejinx Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Korea, South
    first,try cIOSCORP_v3.2 ...
    my english is not well..
     
  5. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Never try cioscorp.
     
  6. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    seriously cIOS corp is risky as shit. I wouldn't reccomend it. Nothing is a perfect replacement for the actual IOS files but themselves.

    Your drive might not be able to play dual layer discs, some drives have had issues.... As shitty as it sounds, you might need to send it to nintendo but you'll have to wipe your homebrew off it first or you run the risk of being charged for the repair whether its a hardware or software issue according to info at hackmii.org

    Sorry i don't have a better solution :/
     
  7. Nirvana

    Newcomer Nirvana Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    He could always just throw an ISO on a USB hard drive and use the USB Loader, no?
     

Share This Page