Just got an ace card

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Spindle9988, Apr 27, 2009.

Apr 27, 2009

Just got an ace card by Spindle9988 at 6:21 PM (2,838 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So im expecting an acekard 2 for the ds lite to arrive this week but I just realised it does not come a micro sdhc card or a usb card reader. Iv bought a 4 gig micro sd card and have a usb micro sd card reader on its way. Will this be all I need to use the acekard 2? Thanks in advance
     


  2. kai445

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    That should be it. Be sure to use the AKAIO firmware.
     
  3. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, do I just download that onto the micro sdcard, or onto the acekard?
     
  4. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read the AKAIO Wiki, stickied at the top of this sub-forum. And by read, I mean read all of it. It has all the information you need to know. If there is something else you need, search first on Google, YouTube, and GBAtemp. If you still cannot find your answer, you can ask away.
     
  5. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Some Acekards actually come bundled with a card reader. Depends on the retailer I guess. Leetmod included one for mine.

    Edit: Oops, you're talking about the AK2 not the AK2i. In that case, nevermind the above.
     
  6. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Wait... Why AKAIO? I read the wiki, and it looks exactly the same as the official firmware.
     
  7. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    There are two reasons for the above statement.
    1. You're sarcastic
    2. You can't read

    If anyone is using the official firmware, seriously, just give AKAIO a try. You'll like it.
     
  8. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The most appealing feature for me is being able to have 9 save files per games. Nine! [​IMG]

    AKAIO would be perfect if it had features similar to CycloDS. Such as all the in-game options, like changing brightness, reading .txt files, real time save, slow-mo... [​IMG]

    But I'm being optamistic here.
     
  9. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    True the only thing its missing is real time save. The AKAIO Wiki says the AKAIO team isnt gonna deal with that and there gonna let the Acekard team figure that one out. I dont blame them. Why do the work if someone is going to eventually and then post all over the web?

    hahahha anywayz... AKAIO is the best. I do believe it can read txt files just not in the middle of the game... who uses slo-mo? im just wondering cuz idk what it would be used it for. not trying to be mean, im just wondering. brightness can be changed in the middle of games using cheats which is in almost all games if your using the GBATemp cheat files.

    ~ Jon
     
  10. Accordman

    Newcomer Accordman Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    my ak2i didnt come with anything at all just the lil cart itself. but i bought my 8gb microsd and reader for far less on ebay anyhow
     
  11. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're just features from the CycloDS that I'd like to see [​IMG]

    And slow motion is useful. Think back to Pokemon R/S/E where you have to use your bike and get over those cracks on the way up to Rayquaza? Think how much easier that would have been if you could so slower. And in game text reading is useful for reading walkthroughs without having to save the game, exit to Acekard, find and read the walkthrough, load the game backup etc, then have to do that all over when you want to read the next bit of the walkthrough.

    But this is going totally off-topic [​IMG]
     
  12. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats what ive done, do I download the firmware onto the cart or the micro sd card?
     
  13. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive looked on the wiki and for the acekard it says the max sd card is 2 gig. Ive just ordered an acekard 2 (not 2i) and bought a 4gig micro sd card seperately, will it work with the acekard 2? Thanks in advance
     
  14. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, all Micro SDHC cards work. And all files go on the Micro SD, non go on the Acekard itself.
     
  15. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can I start downloading the firmware and files onto the micro sd through a usb card reader before the acekard 2 is delivered?
     
  17. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Um... duh?

    The MicroSD don't need the AK to work.
    The AK needs the MicroSD to work.
     
  18. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, i'm really new to all this
     
  19. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Just remember- the MicroSD is a standard form of memory. Wouldn't it suck for the AK to be the only thing in the world to use it?
     
  20. Spindle9988
    OP

    Newcomer Spindle9988 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, s I download firmware straight onto the micro sd? Or on to the pc first then move it onto the micro sd card.
     

Share This Page