Just an idea...

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Waughoo, Aug 28, 2009.

Aug 28, 2009

Just an idea... by Waughoo at 4:25 AM (817 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Waughoo
    OP

    Newcomer Waughoo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 750 GB USB drive thats in 2 partitions. One is 500 GB for Wii games, the other 250 gb is basically nothing right now. I'm wondering if I could use the extra 250 with a PS2 USB loader?
     
  2. davidsl_128

    Member davidsl_128 GBAtemp Brightsider

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    629
    Country:
    Colombia
    Depends on whether PS2 loaders support partitions. Don't know if that's the case, though.
     
  3. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Like wii_128 there may be problems with multiple partitions, but it might be possible. Why don't you try it out (what have you got to loose??) and tell us.
     
  4. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    multiple partitions is okay, however when you change up the format (WBFS and NTFS, FAT) that may cause read errors. But, yea please comment back here and see if it works. I'm lucky enough to have a lot of 320gb ext usb drives that I don't need to share them with other devices (Xbox, Ps3 and Wii)

    Wynd
     
  5. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    You may want to use some of the extra space for a FAT32 partition for homebrew, images, movies, mp3 files, etc rather than using the SD card for it all.

    Also now that Linux has Wi-Fi on the Wii, it would be a good idea to use some space for an EXT3 partition.

    Neither partition has to be huge. 20Gb is plenty for most current uses (I seem to remember something about Bill Gates and 512k... LOL)
     
  6. Waughoo
    OP

    Newcomer Waughoo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I'm gonna give this a try, looks like I need to get my hands on a AR or other cheat device for the PS2 first. I'm already running the HD with a WBFS and a FAT32 partion with no problems, so I'm thinking it may work out. I'm not too worried about space for other homebrews, cause I dont really use most of it besides the USB Loaders.

    I'd REALLY like to have a USB loader or anything similar for my 360, but I'm not about to mess with modding it, it was waaay too expensive and it was a xmas gift from my wife (she loves me so much, she got me an elite).
     
  7. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it should work. unless you have to put your FST32 partition as primary for the ps2 to read it.

    oh, elites are only £200 here now:P
     

Share This Page