Jenesis Sonic Problems

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by themedster327, Sep 7, 2009.

Sep 7, 2009

Jenesis Sonic Problems by themedster327 at 10:50 PM (1,414 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. themedster327
    OP

    Newcomer themedster327 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    There is a problem i have with the jenesis emulator, i have a few problems

    1. Sonic 2 and Knuckles doesnt do anything, i start it then it has the No Way! message [​IMG]
    2. Sonic 3 and knuckles right when i start it goes back to the file choose screen (My fav sonic game :'(
    3. SaveStates dont work that well, when i load a savestate the graphics get messed up and music get ruined

    Please help, i had this problem for a long time

    Acekard 2i for NDSi 1.4U 16gig Micro SD [​IMG]
     
  2. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't support bigger rom files, like the Sonic + Knuckles combo files. It's pretty well documented, and I'm sure Google would've answered quicker.
     
  3. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    JenesisDS will not support any rom over 3MB in size. This was never fixed. The DS has 4MB of memory. 1MB is used for the emulator, the other 3 for the games. And savestates are glitchy, use ingame saves whenever possible or level select codes.

    For Sonic 3 and Knuckles, just play the games separately. Download both the Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles roms in their separate forms. When not together, they are less than 4MB each, so they will both play on JenesisDS.
     
  4. shatteredempathy

    Newcomer shatteredempathy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States

    Acekard 2i for NDSi 1.4U 16gig Micro SD

    Thats exactly what I'm using. O.o
    16gb ftw!


    Also, maybe they'll make a newer version of it for the DSi, which has 16mb of memory, which could run it.
     
  5. phoenixclaws

    Member phoenixclaws GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Only if and when there is a way to get into the DSi Mode. Until then it's pretty much only what DS can handle or using a CPU on a flashcard. heh.
     
  6. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The normal DS could easily handle loading games over 3MB, it was just never coded. Lordus, the JenesisDS developer, had planned to add support for >3MB roms in the next release or so, but he seems to have completely disappeared (seems to be getting common with DS emu developers, wonder if they're being abducted by Nintendo).

    But yes, emulators like SnemulDS and Lameboy support larger rom loading. I forget what they called the technique, but it basically allows chunks of the game data to be streamed in and out of the memory in real time. It calls the data up as it is needed and dumps it out when no longer needed. It's apparently not altogether hard to do, but just something Lordus never got to. Most emulators for DS support larger roms. And his is one of the more advanced. Had he still been around, it would likely have been easier than some of the other things he did with the emulator.

    An emulator coded specifically for the DSi could improve just the speed mostly. Of course, fixes here and there, but i'm not sure if it would be worth it. JenesisDS already works amazingly well considering. In reality, I could actually see more of a use for an emulator for the iPlayer. We got a GBA one for that flashcard, I imagine Genesis might be an interesting endeavor. I even ponder the Sega CD, if not for the size of the games...
     

Share This Page