1. Christopher8827

    OP Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    I want to run a Java .jad on my DS. Could someone possibly port Microemulator to the DS so I can use Opera Mini?

    This thing; http://www.microemu.org/
     
  2. Wabsta

    Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,501
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why?
    Just use normal opera, or some homebrew browser..
     
  3. Christopher8827

    OP Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Cause it so awesome...

    Its very fast because it renders webpages through a encrypted proxy server. Also, it designed for dumb-mobile phones so tech requirements are low.
     
  4. Wabsta

    Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,501
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But you DO know, that if u "emulate" something, that it will not reach the speed of normal app?

    Well, maybe it does, I actually don't know [​IMG]

    But I think ur better of just using a homebrew browser [​IMG]
     
  5. Christopher8827

    OP Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    *shrugs* The DSi has 16mb of ram. Im sure thats faster than my dumb phone.

    But what do i know? I'm only suggesting ideas. [​IMG]
     
  6. mkoo

    mkoo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Theoreticly it's possible. But not an emulator the Java Virtual Machine could be ported ver DS.

    But I think it would be better to port Java mobile and use Opera Mini directly on it.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Vague Rant Deceptively cute
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,319
    Country:
    Java is already on the DS. And Java isn't something you emulate, it's more akin to an emulator itself, so losing speed from "emulating Java" isn't even something you have to consider. However, in this case, it doesn't have any code to access the wifi hardware, so you can't do anything meaningful with Opera Mini anyway. Besides which, I'm not sure that the DS would meet the minimum requirements for running Opera Mini; any decently modern mobile phone is more powerful than the DS.
     
  8. Findecanno

    Findecanno GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    Until the dsi is hacked it can only use 4mb of ram because it runs in ds mode.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator,