Java emulator?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Christopher8827, May 11, 2009.

May 11, 2009

Java emulator? by Christopher8827 at 2:02 PM (942 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Christopher8827
    OP

    Member Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    I want to run a Java .jad on my DS. Could someone possibly port Microemulator to the DS so I can use Opera Mini?

    This thing; http://www.microemu.org/
     
  2. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why?
    Just use normal opera, or some homebrew browser..
     
  3. Christopher8827
    OP

    Member Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    Cause it so awesome...

    Its very fast because it renders webpages through a encrypted proxy server. Also, it designed for dumb-mobile phones so tech requirements are low.
     
  4. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But you DO know, that if u "emulate" something, that it will not reach the speed of normal app?

    Well, maybe it does, I actually don't know [​IMG]

    But I think ur better of just using a homebrew browser [​IMG]
     
  5. Christopher8827
    OP

    Member Christopher8827 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    *shrugs* The DSi has 16mb of ram. Im sure thats faster than my dumb phone.

    But what do i know? I'm only suggesting ideas. [​IMG]
     
  6. mkoo

    Member mkoo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Turkey
    Theoreticly it's possible. But not an emulator the Java Virtual Machine could be ported ver DS.

    But I think it would be better to port Java mobile and use Opera Mini directly on it.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Java is already on the DS. And Java isn't something you emulate, it's more akin to an emulator itself, so losing speed from "emulating Java" isn't even something you have to consider. However, in this case, it doesn't have any code to access the wifi hardware, so you can't do anything meaningful with Opera Mini anyway. Besides which, I'm not sure that the DS would meet the minimum requirements for running Opera Mini; any decently modern mobile phone is more powerful than the DS.
     
  8. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    Until the dsi is hacked it can only use 4mb of ram because it runs in ds mode.
     

Share This Page