1. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm gonna get a japanese gamecube soon, so I'm wondering if I can use a freelaoder disc to play us and pal games. (This is my first cube see) Also how does the broadband adapter work? I want to play a certain game online with it. Oh and why do some play game not display correctly? I heard they don't. Sorry for topics being all around.
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,499
    Country:
    United States
    Why a Japan gamecube?
     
  3. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Not only does it look cool (orange is best) The game I want to play isn't compatible with us or pal region consoles. Even with freeloader discs. (the text garbles up+no online)
     
  4. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,499
    Country:
    United States
    Gut swap the mobo and modchip
     
  5. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    ? I know what the modchip is but I don't know what the other one is. Either way I'm not looking to edit my cube.
     
  6. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,848
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard older versions of the freeloader disc are region free. While I'm not familiar with their japanese releases, action replay and sd media launcher were also available in japan.

    Video format is an issue with PAL games. NTSC hardware uses invalid composite/s-video colors in 50hz mode. It's easiest to fix by setting the game to 60hz somehow. If you really want 50hz there are ways (the component cable for example displays 50hz properly on NTSC systems).
     
  7. KleinesSinchen

    KleinesSinchen The Backup Reminder
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,821
    Country:
    Germany
    Well… I guess "mobo" is the lazy version of "motherboard". Means: "Put the motherboard of a US or EU GameCube into the JPN orange case."

    Other option:
    Get SD-Gecko and/or SD2SP2 and start Swiss with a save exploit. Refer to [GC-Forever Wiki]Booting Homebrew for this. To get the save exploit onto the memory card you will need a softmodded Wii console or another method of booting Swiss (GameCube with modchip or Datel SD Media Launcher) once.

    Swiss allows playing games from SD (SD-Gecko, SD2SP2), should boot legit out-of-region discs and might be able to boot burned media (depends on laser quality, might require adjusting the potentiometer).

    Good luck and have fun!
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't fully understand that but what I got from it is that it doesn't display properly with non pal stuff. What I want to know is, does this apply to all pal games, or just a large portion? I want to play doshin the giant and luigi's mansion pal. (for the better hidden mansion)
     
  9. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,848
    Country:
    United States
    It applies to 50hz only games.
    For doshin the giant and luigi's mansion, you'll want to look for cheats to run them at 60hz.
     
  10. Extrems

    Extrems GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't need cheats. Just force 480i/p with Swiss.
     
  11. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Is swii
    Is swiss a soft or hard mod, cause I don't want to make any permanent changes.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I'm not quite knowledgeable on this subject, so what is the difference between 50hz and 60hz? Is it the sound waves or am I wrong about this?
     
  12. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,848
    Country:
    United States
    swiss is an app, not a mod. It's usually run through a soft mod. (hard mods can also load swiss, but that isn't important right now)

    50hz and 60hz are TV display rates. Standard PAL draws the screen at 50hz.
     
    KleinesSinchen likes this.
  13. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah ok that makes a lot more sense. Question, can I use action replay or something of the sort to make it 60hz then?
     
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,499
    Country:
    United States
    Japan also use 60Hz
     
  15. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,954
    Country:
    United States
    Like this?
    IMG_3707.JPG

    I'll admit I haven't fired it up for a while. I installed a XenoGC and while I do have the original J Gameboy disc, it works better with the Gameboy Interface (GBI) disc. That's an EZFlash 4 in the cart slot. Good luck!
     
    The Real Jdbye likes this.
  16. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,499
    Country:
    United States
    EZ-Flash Omega is way better
     
  17. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,954
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah it's way better but I haven't spent money on such stuff for a while.
     
  18. Lumstar

    Lumstar Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,848
    Country:
    United States
    There's codes for that.

    Keep in mind 50hz might be worth trying once. If you get a stable black and white picture, your TV probably supports PAL.
     
  19. pleasehelpme2

    OP pleasehelpme2 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Canada
    I have two question to this, what would I do if my tv supported pal? Just play like that without the colour, or is there a way to make it coloured. 2. I've heard that action replay has a region free function as well, is that true? I might as well just get a jap action replay instead of a jap region freeloader disc.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yeah that's the cube!
     
    Hanafuda likes this.
  20. Hanafuda

    Hanafuda GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,954
    Country:
    United States

    Get this ... I bought that in a "Book Off" store in Yokohama on vacation in 2013. (Book Off is a used stuff shop.) I paid about $12 for the Gamecube with the original controller, power brick, and AV cables. In 2015 I was in Osaka and went to Super Potato, where I got both the matching Gameboy Player (with original disc) and the additional controller for about $40. Of course the hard part is actually being in Japan to get deals like that.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - freeloader, Japanese,