I've had it with NeoDS...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Veloxi, Aug 23, 2008.

Aug 23, 2008

I've had it with NeoDS... by Veloxi at 4:43 PM (2,207 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    It's now been about 5 days and I have yet to successfully convert a MAME/NeoGeo/Etc. files to actually work on my DS. I've tried typing cmd, dragging NeoDsConvert.exe into the window, adding -bios6/-bios8 mslug to the end, tried 3 different bios file downloads, everything I can think of.

    I give up. There's nothing else I can use to convert these files?
     
  2. Japhle

    Member Japhle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Somewhere on these forums there is a link to a page with the bios, put those in a directory, then put the MAME version of neogeo rom you wish to convert, then add the converter, and run it and it should work... and make sure the bios are named neogeo.zip
    That should make them convert properly.

    OR I just misread the question and my post is irrellevant.
     
  3. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    theres loads of threads on neods on the forum have a look through them to find out how [​IMG]

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=91555
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=89018
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=85433
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=85282


    theres also tools in the downloads section for converting roms ...

    remember here you need a proper set of NEOGEO bios files in the folder as well as a correct set of NEOGEO files for each game in their respective zip files otherwise you will get a failed conversion ... and -bios1 is the best setting to use to get most if not all neogeo roms that are capable of running on neods to work [​IMG]
     
  4. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Working on converting now... thanks for the links/advice/tips. I think maybe I was using a bad version of the NeoGeo bios. We'll see what happens in a bit!
     
  5. Baroque Obama

    Newcomer Baroque Obama Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    ask for your money back.
     
  6. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
  7. Veloxi
    OP

    Member Veloxi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    Iceland
    Got it working... after hours and hours. I think the problem was my source for roms. All the files I was getting weren't named properly, so I assumed maybe I should try another source. Once I found something more trustworthy, I've had nothing but success. Thanks, and yep... I got the extended warranty AND my money back.
     
  8. Bergunzo

    Member Bergunzo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    2 little questions about NeoDS:

    1. Does everyone know how to enable red blood in metal slug games? There is a way?

    2. Why I can't convert Hacked Roms (like Metal Slug 5 Plus) in .neo file?
     
  9. Japhle

    Member Japhle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I probably don't n=know anything about this. sorry.
     
  10. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    You've got three options. First, you can convert them using the Japanese BIOS. Secondly, you can convert them using the UniBIOS and set the region to Japan. Thirdly, you can convert them using the UniBIOS, set the region to USA/Europe, and switch the "Red Blood" softdip to ON in the BIOS menu (hold whichever buttons you have mapped to A, B and C to enter the BIOS menu). Note that if you choose to use the softdip, you'll have to set it each time you want to play with red blood.
     
  11. airpirate545

    Member airpirate545 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    757
    Country:
    United States
    After giving up converting when the initial release came out, I decided to try it one more time with the converter ferrariman linked to. It worked for mteal slug but it gives me wrong bios/rom error forkof94 and kof2002. Does each game need a different bios or something?
     
  12. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, try all of them.
     

Share This Page