is this r4ds real?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by dave950, Sep 8, 2009.

Sep 8, 2009

is this r4ds real? by dave950 at 7:39 PM (908 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
  2. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    none that are made new are original anymore. just buy a good card like the acekard2.
     
  3. Burnedmagix

    Member Burnedmagix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    its fake im thinking
    But yeah it'll still work with original firmware
     
  4. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    i already bought this, can u tell me if it still works with kernel 1.18 and not brick my dsl?
     
  5. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks real, but don't expect it to be. Don't go with the R4, you get for what you pay, When something costs the same as a happy meal you begin to doubt.
     
  6. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    thxs and will it work the same as real r4ds? and with ysmenu?
     
  7. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    why do you want to run the R4 firmware anyways? it's not good for anything really.
     
  8. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    well is there any other firmware for r4 since i already bought it
     
  9. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can't "Brick" a DSL unless your flashing it.
     
  10. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    well thxs for the info
     
  11. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just be warned in cases of R4s you get for what you pay for.
     
  12. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    thxs for the info
     
  13. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it wont. Well, I've not heard of a fake/clone that does yet. They all use some slightly edited version I believe. One actually changes their firmware to work with the original R4.
     
  14. flyingpenguin

    Newcomer flyingpenguin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    This is the same one I got (the fake one), and it works fine with the official firmware v1.18, the firmware from R4i or whatever it was (v1.23), YSMenu, and DSision.
     
  15. dave950
    OP

    Newcomer dave950 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    will this r4 work with ysmenu?
    and can i keep both kernel 1.18 and ysmenu on the r4?
     

Share This Page