Is there a solution for using multiple USB devices?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by schmojo, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. schmojo
    OP

    Newcomer schmojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got 2 8Gb USB flash drives, and would like to have them both plugged in at once. I've installed IOS222, and have tried CFG Loader, USB Loader GX, and NeoGamma, but with no luck.

    Is there any way to have both drives mounted at once, or am I stuck switching them around?
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I think you're stuck switching them...
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    u have to switch them... or u can launch cfg loader using a usb port 1 (instead of port 0) by having an external EHmodule (i think its EH) saved to your sd card.
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    ehcmodule [​IMG]
     
  5. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    If you really hate switching them around that much, why don't you just sell them and buy a 16gb flash drive. I am not trying to be a jerk here, I am being serious. It seems like you have put a lot of time into figuring out a way to get them to work at the same time so it seems this is pretty important to you. If it is then why not just sell them and buy a bigger single drive? The cost difference is not that much. I have an 8gb and a 16gb both are SanDisk's that I got at Walmart, and if I remember correctly the cost difference between them was only $25ish so with selling 2 used 8Gb ones you should be able to get pretty close to the cost of a 16Gb one. If it is not that big of a deal to you or the cost is more than the switching around is worth to you then just keep them, but if it were me I would just sell them and get a bigger drive, IMHO. Anyways I hope you know that I am just trying to help and not be a smartxxx here. Talk to you later.

    Sincerely,
    Elmoreas
     
  6. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Like above:

    -Buy a bigger Drive
    -Buy a WODE ModChip

    Do one of these, or leave it.
     
  7. user0002

    Member user0002 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    F1nland
    Country:
    Finland
    Could it be possible to program a software that makes a distinction betweem usb devices connected to a USB hub that is connected to a Wii and then you could just change from one usb hard disk to another from wii with that program? Those who have knowledge of programming, is that possible or attainable? Or is that a fat, lazy and totally idiotic question? i don't have much knowledge of programming..
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    It certainly is possible.
    Usb Hub support would be needed in CIOS then loaders could offer disk selection like they do with partitions.
    Problem is finding someone who is willing to do it.
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    before any1 were to work on this... shouldn't they work on allowing you to select between port0 and port1?

    anyways, i doubt any1 will want to work on either idea anyways
     
  10. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    If you settle for selecting one of the two ports everything is ready.
    Simply install 2 cios, one normal and one modified for port 1.
    Then configure 2 loaders to use them.
    cfg eg reads config from launch dir so you dont need two different loaders.
    Dont know about the others.
     
  11. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    well the issue with xflak40's idea is what if they are saving the settings file to the USB drive? you need to init the drive to read the settings. but you need the settings to know what drive to init. so its the chicken and the egg thing.

    for a quick way to do this with GX, just set it up to save your settings file on the USB drive. then put the port1 ehci module in SD:/apps/usbloader_gx/. now when you start the program with no SD card, it will function as normal. when you start the app with the SD card inserted, it will use the top USB port.
     
  12. schmojo
    OP

    Newcomer schmojo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info guys.

    I know I could just buy a 16Gb flash drive, but I wanted to use these two if I could. No problem, I'll just switch them around when needed.
     
  13. tHciNc

    Member tHciNc Total Random

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Just buy a 2tb external and you will never have to swap anything ever again [​IMG]
     
  14. uberbdon

    Member uberbdon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    I have my external HD plugged into port0 for games, and I throw a movie on my 4 gig flash drive and put it in port1 for use with Geexbox. In geexbox I can choose weather I want to navigate the flash drive or my external HD. Didn't know this until a couple weeks ago.
     

Share This Page