Is there a program that can read PS3 file structure on PC?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Elliander, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I have no problem transferring files through the FTP connection, but it's so slow! I have an adapter to use the PS3 internal hard drive as a USB device, but when I connect that to the computer the partition is unreadable. Is there any program that I can use to access that file structure so that I can directly transfer files?
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Possible BUT impractical.

    PS3 file system is in UFS2 encrypted in AES-XTS-128. Which means you need a Linux operating system on your PC plus dumping two ATA encryption keys from PS3 (requires OtherOS) to be able to mount the drive.

    FTP transfer will only be fast if you connect it directly to PC with Gigabit connection (PC must support Gigabit ethernet speed + Cat6 cable). Otherwise USB port on your PS3 is the fastest you will get.
     
  3. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I see. I have an Ubuntu computer (which I mainly use to run antivirus when windows computers fail), but the encryption keys sound tricky. Is it unique to each PS3, or is it universal? Can I install OtherOS with CFW, or did it really die when Sony discontinued support for it?

    Is it possible to physically connect the USB ports of the laptop and PS3? Or do you mean through a USB drive? If it's through a drive, can I actually move files from a USB drive to the internal hard drive?
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You can transfer files from/to USB/Internal.
    You need a file manager to do the transfer.

    The first manager was "Comgenie's File Manager"
    Wich was later incorporated to multiMAN.

    If you have multiMAN, you already have a file manager. press Select+Start if this combo still exists, or find the place where to access it. Maybe you can even use the new Desktop mode in multiMAN to manage files.
    If you don't have multiMAN, you can use Comgenie's one.


    Attention, HDD has few restriction:
    FAT32: Read/write, Comgenie/multiMAN
    NTFS: Read only, multiMAN

    If you use FAT32, big files larger than 4GB will be automatically un/split when you transfer it.
    If you want to split a big file on your computer to put the files on USB, there are few software capable of doing it. (Check my multiMAN guide in PS3 Faq section, I linked to few programs to un/split files on Windows).
     
  5. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    For WiFi transfers I thought I would just let them go while I slept last night, with the TV off, and when I woke up I found that it turned itself off at some point. Today while at school I had it going again, with the failed transfers re-queued, and when I got home there was a message in Filezilla asking me if I want to overwrite. The console was off again. It never randomly shuts off while in use so is this an issue of it turning itself off while idle? If so is there a setting to change somewhere?

    Good to know that I can transfer between USB and internal hard drive, but a direct connection between the computer and the internal hard drive would be preferred - especially if I can't resolve the shut off issue.
     
  6. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    That worked, thanks. It was much quicker to copy the files to a USB thumb stick and then use Desktop mode in multiMAN to copy the files over.

    Oddly, when I selected to "move" the files it took over twice as long to delete the files from the thumbstick as it took to copy them over, and it still wasn't done by the time I decided to cancel letting it delete and then just select delete on my computer.

    One more question in regards: When I eventually decide to upgrade to a new higher capacity internal hard drive would it work to just copy all the files to an external hard drive, format the new internal hard drive, and then copy/overwrite the files on the internal hard drive? But if multiMAN is installed on the hard drive how would that work? Or would the system backup/restore feature backup everything - even unofficial folders? After seeing how much space even a single game takes up I have no doubt that I will want to upgrade eventually, but I want to wait at least until 2 TB internal are available.
     
  7. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    ATA encryption keys are unique to each PS3. There is no easy way to dump them, since you need to write your own program to dump them. They aren't like EID4 key (Blu-ray drive key) where you have program already available to dump it.

    You can install OtherOS with CFW.

     
  8. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    So if I install OtherOS would I also need to have written my own program, or is there a simple internal way of doing that? Personally, it seems like it would be a good idea just to have my encryption keys in case I ever need to access the files directly (such as if the console dies or something).
     
  9. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You will have to write your program to mount the drive using the keys. If you have knowledge in computer programming read this,

    http://www.ps3devwiki.com/wiki/Mounting_HDD_on_PC
     
  10. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! I do have limited programming experience (C#, C++, Visual Basic, Visual Basic .NET, XNA, PHP, HTML), but I have not yet programmed under a Linux environment and my knowledge is sadly outdated. (I am in college to be a Genetic Engineer, not a programmer). Which programming language is involved? C++, right? I might take the time this coming Summer break to learn to program in a Linux environment.

    Hypothetically, if I were to successfully do all this, would I have to do the whole process again in the event that the PS3 breaks (heavens forbid) and I have to get a new one? Or might it be possible to change the encryption keys of a second PS3 to match that of the first one?
     
  11. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    I can't answer your first question, but for the second question, yes. You would have to dump your drive keys again as drive keys are unique among each PS3. This is the reason why PS3 asks to format your HDD when you take HDD from one PS3 to another. It is not possible to alter them on PS3.
     
  12. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    That seems odd. What determines the drive keys then? Mac address? serial number? If it is unique to each console it's probably something like. I doubt it would be completely random.
     
  13. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Keys we are talking about are 2x 128-bit AES keys.

    These are randomly generated keys that were hard coded into PS3. PS3 encrypts data before SATA controller.
     
  14. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    hmm. Well if it's not based on something identifiable, why can't it be changed? I might understand if it was based on the mac address and serial number because in that scenario it would self detect the change, and if you could get around it they could easy detect it online, but if it is totally random and it can't be changed, does that mean it's in some isolated piece of hardware?
     

Share This Page