Hacking Is my wii bricked?

acho

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
59
Trophies
1
XP
1,620
Country
Indonesia
I haven't turned on this wii for few years and decided to test it today but this happened.


I forgot exactly the mods applied to it but I am pretty sure this wii has modchip installed (able to read backup discs) and softmodded to load games of hdd as well.
The power button light is on, but the blue light will flash briefly when I press the power or reset button. There is no output on tv at all (black screen/no signal). You can also hear a ticking sound (almost reminds of the sound when you light up a gas stove) from the wii unit and the power supply. Thanks in advance.
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,554
Country
Austria
I haven't turned on this wii for few years and decided to test it today but this happened.


I forgot exactly the mods applied to it but I am pretty sure this wii has modchip installed (able to read backup discs) and softmodded to load games of hdd as well.
The power button light is on, but the blue light will flash briefly when I press the power or reset button. There is no output on tv at all (black screen/no signal). You can also hear a ticking sound (almost reminds of the sound when you light up a gas stove) from the wii unit and the power supply. Thanks in advance.


Hello. :)

That is sad to hear from your troubles with your Wii.:(

Can you please tell us:

- Has the Wii been permanently plugged in in this 2 Years ?
and if yes was it on complete Power Off (RED Led) or Stand By (YELLOW/ORANGE Led) ?

My thoughts goes to the FUSE in the POWER ADAPTOR.:unsure:

Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: r5xscn

acho

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
59
Trophies
1
XP
1,620
Country
Indonesia
Hello. :)

That is sad to hear from your troubles with your Wii.:(

Can you please tell us:

- Has the Wii been permanently plugged in in this 2 Years ?
and if yes was it on complete Power Off (RED Led) or Stand By (YELLOW/ORANGE Led) ?

My thoughts goes to the FUSE in the POWER ADAPTOR.:unsure:

Thank you.:)
Hi thanks for the reply :), the Wii has been stored unplugged all this time inside a box.
If the power adapter works fine on another wii, does that eliminate the possibility of faulty fuse in the power adaptor?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,554
Country
Austria
Hi thanks for the reply :), the Wii has been stored unplugged all this time inside a box.
If the power adapter works fine on another wii, does that eliminate the possibility of faulty fuse in the power adaptor?

Thank you for your reply.:)

Yes,thats ok then.That maybe makes then one source of error less.

Can you please try to insert a Game Disc and tell us what happend ?
(My next thought is a Game Disc is stuck in the drive maybe).

And please UNPLUG a maybe connected USB Device like HDD or USB Drive/Stick.

Thank you.:)
 

acho

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
59
Trophies
1
XP
1,620
Country
Indonesia
Thank you for your reply.:)

Yes,thats ok then.That maybe makes then one source of error less.

Can you please try to insert a Game Disc and tell us what happend ?
(My next thought is a Game Disc is stuck in the drive maybe).

And please UNPLUG a maybe connected USB Device like HDD or USB Drive/Stick.

Thank you.:)
you got it right, there is already a disc inside :lol:. Everything is unplugged including sd card except the power and av cable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,554
Country
Austria
you got it right, there is already a disc inside :lol:. Everything is unplugged including sd card except the power and av cable.

Another question please:

I understand it right,your Wii is Softmodded to play Backups from an HDD/USB device ?
What happend if you Power on your Wii while PRESS and HOLD the RESET Button ?
(If it is a "good" Softmod the PRIILOADER should appear).

Thank you.:)
 

acho

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 27, 2007
Messages
59
Trophies
1
XP
1,620
Country
Indonesia
Another question please:

I understand it right,your Wii is Softmodded to play Backups from an HDD/USB device ?
What happend if you Power on your Wii while PRESS and HOLD the RESET Button ?
(If it is a "good" Softmod the PRIILOADER should appear).

Thank you.:)
yes correct, it used to be able to run backups of sdcard, hdd and also discs.
Tried pressing and holding the reset button, same result unfortunately (blue light flashing and ticking sound).
I plugged the power adapter to the wii, power lights on, then I press and hold reset, then press power while still holding reset. I laid out the steps here just to be sure.
Thank you so much for your instant replies. I am so grateful. :bow:
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,970
Trophies
3
Location
Austria
XP
2,554
Country
Austria
yes correct, it used to be able to run backups of sdcard, hdd and also discs.
Tried pressing and holding the reset button, same result unfortunately (blue light flashing and ticking sound).
I plugged the power adapter to the wii, power lights on, then I press and hold reset, then press power while still holding reset. I laid out the steps here just to be sure.
Thank you so much for your instant replies. I am so grateful. :bow:

Thank you.:)

Did you can manage to take out the Disc ?

Are you maybe "willing" to disassemble your Wii ? :D
 

DaMan4169

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
1,213
Country
United States
Assuming you haven't held the Sync button on the Wii for an extended period of time to clear all the previously synced Wiimotes from memory...
Can you turn the Wii on with a Wiimote?

If your Wii was in storage and got knock around a bit, the Bluetooth module may have wiggled loose. At about the 6:30 mark in this video you can see where the module is located, or at the 1 min mark in this quicker version of BT replacement.
A bad or disconnected BT module or even possibly the WiFi module will also result in no video.
A connected and functional disc drive board is also necessary for the Wii to boot. The drive itself doesn't have to be functional but the Wii needs to be able to see that a drive is connected. (if the clicking is the drive then this isn't your issue)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://images.app.goo.gl/wgUkDBd2rbpscJAF9