Is it possible to run Opera with the R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kalibar, Jan 21, 2007.

Jan 21, 2007
  1. kalibar
    OP

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious about this. I've got an R4DS en route to me, and I was wondering if you can load Opera onto it and utilize the RAM from a G6 Lite or an M3 Lite (I have both options available to me) to run Opera. Opera DS comes in English now, right? I haven't kept up with this shit.

    Also, where is it available for purchase?
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    It works with the M3, but you will have to ips patch the DSbrowser rom with the ips patch designed for M3 (there are two, one for M3 and the other for Supercard). Really easy to find both with a little googling.

    Yes, the english version is out. Or rather the 'european' version, there is no US version of it as of yet. So if you want to purchase and live outside europe. You will have to import it.
     
  3. screamster101

    Newcomer screamster101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    it works with a sc lite an m3 lite. im typing from mine right now! also, r4 needed as well... have kingston 1gb japan.
     
  4. kalibar
    OP

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds cool on the M3 Lite, I'll have to check it out.

    Shame that it doesn't work for the G6. I was trying to figure out which GBA-enabled flashcart to keep around, and having Opera available would be a big plus for keeping the M3 Lite. I had actually been kinda leaning toward hanging onto the G6 instead.
     
  5. Blightfire

    Newcomer Blightfire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Singapore
    By M3 lite do you mean the one with GBA support or the one without?
     
  6. kalibar
    OP

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 Lite is the one with GBA support.
     
  7. broz

    Newcomer broz Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Argentina
    No. M3 Lite has two version: Perfect and Pro. Perfect is the one with GBA support and the extra ram. So you need the perfect version.
     
  8. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I purchased the Japanese version of the DS Lite browser on ebay for 20 bucks, and now use that ram pack in conjunction with the R4 and a clean Europe browser rom. Works great.
     
  9. kalibar
    OP

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Not trying to be difficult, but I've always referred to the "Perfect" M3 Lite as just "M3 Lite", and by and large have heard it referred to in that manner by others. Use Coca-Cola products as an analogy -- if you go to a restaurant and order a "Coke" they don't ask you if you're talking about a Coca-Cola Classic or a Diet Coke, they simply assume that you'd say Diet Coke if that's what you wanted (and in that same vain, you wouldn't order a "Coca-Cola Classic" unless you're just being a goofball; you would very likely order a "Coke").

    M3 Lite Pro is like the Diet Coke of flashcarts, just one type of ROM -- not evil enough! The analogy carries further, too -- one could easily liken the M3 Simply to Coke Zero. Although, that would really only work if 7UP came out with a beverage immediately preceeding Zero called UP4 that contained exactly the same formula in their own branded can (while Coke Zero's can simply had the Coke logo slapped on top of the 7UP logo). Incidentally, UP4 that could be turned into a Coke Zero by dumping solder into the beverage.

    Errr... anyway. [​IMG] Moral of the story is that it's understood (to me, anyway) that someone's talking about the original version of the M3 Lite when all they say is "M3 Lite".

    God damn I could go for a fizzy beverage.
     

Share This Page