Is it okay to format the SD card using Disk Utility?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Dr. Awesome, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Dr. Awesome
    OP

    Newcomer Dr. Awesome Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to format my 8 GB Kingston SDHC card for my Acekard 2i, but seeing how I'm on a mac, I can't use the Panasonic formatter. But what I can do is format it in Disk Utility. I'm only worried it's not going to format it properly and cause problems for my on my Acekard later on.
     
  2. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
  3. phrozen087

    Newcomer phrozen087 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I have an 8GB Transcend card and have never used anything other than the standard right click format in windows (I've never used Panasonic formatter on it once) and I have never had a single problem with the card.
     
  4. Dr. Awesome
    OP

    Newcomer Dr. Awesome Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Just tested my Acekard out, it works fine. Thanks for helping me out
     
  5. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    If you'd like to try out the Panasonic Formatter, you could use an app called WineBottler which is able to run Windows programs on a Mac without actually running Windows. Its like Wine on Linux.

    Try it out to see if it works. Not sure as I don't have a Mac.
     
  6. Optimatum

    Newcomer Optimatum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Singapore
    Wine doesn't work well when it comes to formatting drives and such.
     

Share This Page