Is it easy to replace a N64 joystick?

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Sportsmaniac1322, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Sportsmaniac1322
    OP

Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

Jun 26, 2008
    United States
    Forman's Basement
    I have 2 N64 controllers and both the joysticks are totally worn out. They don't stand up straight anymore, they just flop around and lay whichever way I put the controller down. How easy is it to replace these, and does anyone have a link to a tutorial? I have some experience soldering, but I'm by no means an expert. Lastly, should I even bother? I don't know how much N64 controllers are right off the top of my head, but would it be a better option to just buy 2 new controllers? Thanks in advance.

2. Crimsonclaw111

Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

Apr 7, 2010
    United States
    I don't think 64 controllers need soldering... just replace the plastic joystick. I haven't looked in a while, but it shouldn't be too hard.

3. savior-of-twilig

savior-of-twilig Member

Newcomer
    Jun 7, 2009
    United States
    Escondido, CA
  4. Sportsmaniac1322
    OP

Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

Jun 26, 2008
    United States
    Forman's Basement
    Thanks, that's exactly what I was looking for. Why can't our controllers now be this easy? Of course our controllers now also don't wear out, so I guess I'll just live with it [​IMG].

5. TwinRetro

TwinRetro GBAtemp Guru

Aug 29, 2008
    Djibouti
    Hiatus Hell
    Mario Party was the ultimate joystick killer...it also wore a giant blister in the middle of my palm [​IMG]

6. savior-of-twilig

savior-of-twilig Member

Newcomer
    Jun 7, 2009
    United States
    Escondido, CA
    My analog stick broke when the mini-game came up that you have to spin the stick around to win tug of war against bowser. [​IMG] At least it was an easy fix once i found the Tut.

7. Potticus

Potticus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Apr 30, 2010
    United States
    Oklahoma
    Ohhh so truthful.