?
  1. Yes

    10 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    In my PC build, I currently have 1 stick of 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 RAM. If I bought an identical RAM stick and put it in my computer, would I get better performance because it's dual channel?
     
  2. mgrev

    mgrev Music Addict, Video Game Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    Norway
    yes it's a little bit faster, but only 5-10%
     
  3. mightymuffy

    mightymuffy fatbaldpieeater
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,584
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, yeah, coz then you'd have 16GB....:lol:
    Seriously though, yes 2x8Gb would be faster than 1x16, but not by much....
    EDIT: Ninja'd again! Yep I'd say mgrev is about right there ;)
     
    fossda likes this.
  4. guitarheroknight

    guitarheroknight 1.6180339887
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,789
    Country:
    Norway
    It depends, if you're using it for gaming with a physical GPU then no, you're probably get a 1 fps boost at most.

    If you don't have a gpu and have integrated graphics then it will give you a very nice bump in performance.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  5. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    I have a dedicated GPU... so there'd be hardly any difference at all?
     
  6. omegasoul6

    omegasoul6 ಠ_ಠ
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    507
    Country:
    Canada
    If you multitask, you will notice a relatively big difference in performance, especially if you run Chrome, that browser eats ram.

    The only game I can think of at the moment that runs slow without 16gb of ram is Batman Arkham Knight.
     
    TotalInsanity4 likes this.
  7. guitarheroknight

    guitarheroknight 1.6180339887
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,789
    Country:
    Norway
    In gaming you won't see any improvements.
     
  8. raystriker

    raystriker The powers that be
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,425
    Country:
    India
    I read somewhere that dual channel ram increases the speed but the available memory decreases by just a bit(almost negligible)
     
  9. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,435
    Country:
    United States
    technically it's better in dual channel, however if you actually notice this improvement is another thing
     
  10. codezer0

    codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    United States
    It was only about that fast on the nForce2, back in the 90's, because it was connected to a CPU that was only made for single-channel DDR RAM with the original AMD Athlon.

    Nowadays, with CPU's made and intended to run with such an amount of bandwidth, the gains are more significant. I certainly would not even dream of trying to run a Skylake on single-channel mode. If you have to do that, it's more likely a defective motherboard or CPU.

    The X99-based i7's practically could even go quad-channel, with most motherboards for that style of chip having eight RAM slots.
     
    Selim873 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - channel, better,