IOS Downgrader fails to initialize network

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ConraDargo, Mar 22, 2009.

Mar 22, 2009
  1. ConraDargo
    OP

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Edit: Scroll down to find the solution to this problem! (downgrading offline)

    Getting pretty tired of this problem now >< You've all heard of it before - the IOS Downgrader fails to initialize a network connection (ret = -116 for me). I've already tried rebooting the Wii, a lot of times. I've also tried shutting it off and turning it back on again. I even disabled my network security but nothing good ever comes out of it - I keep getting the same error.

    The cIOS Downgrader found my wireless connection in 5 sec.

    So, any workaround for this? Can't I simply load the files needed onto the SD card instead?

    Thanks in advance.

    PS. My router is not a Verizon FIOS (but D-Link 524).
     
  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pretty sure this has been answered a few times.

    Use search and look up offline downgrade ether posted one, wiipower, even I have too.
     
  3. ConraDargo
    OP

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Already have, didn't found any answer that worked for me.

    I'll google on "offline downgrade" though [​IMG] Thanks.
     
  4. ConraDargo
    OP

    Member ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    For anyone who has the same problem as I - here's how I finally managed to downgrade without the use of a working network.

    First of all, I had already successfully installed both both cios_fix.wad and IOS16-64-v257-prod.wad in their proper order, having followed this guide on YouTube. What was missing was cios249 r7 (apparently also known as cIOS36r8), so if you haven't installed it already - just place it in X:/WAD/ and run the Custom WAD Manager. Install. Then follow these steps:

    1. Download the CIOSCORP Installer and rename the .dol to boot.dol.

    2. Put the .dol in X:/apps/cioscorp/

    3. Put all the necessary WAD files in X:/cioscorp/ and MAKE SURE that you've got the right SystemMenu for your Wii (JAP/US/EU)!!

    4. Load the cioscorp file from the Homebrew Channel.

    Done [​IMG]
     
  5. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cIOS36 r8 is the latest version and installs under cIOS249. NOT AKA.

    also: cios_fix is not needed at all anymore.
     

Share This Page