Internet acting up again

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Theraima, Apr 20, 2011.

Apr 20, 2011

Internet acting up again by Theraima at 9:00 PM (810 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Theraima
    OP

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    So my Internet was acting up in last December, it was very strange. It just wouldnt work at all and show very weird speeds on speedtest.net (cable connection). Now its starting again, no new modem or new internet package, but the speeds are damn weird. Also I noticed that there is quite a bit of packet loss.. But what the hell is the cause of this? We are paying for 8mb/1mb a month, normally we get around 6 mb/s. But now it sometimes shows below 1mb/s or sometimes it shows around 10-15 mb/s. The modem is in my dads room, a few meters away, and it is cabled to our Wireless modem, and the line goes from the wireless modem to the laptop. The line itself is in good shape. But this is getting really frustrating, I cant do anything on computer.. Also my ping has risen by a noticeable amount..

    If anyone has any idea for this, please share need! I'm desperate and I need help badly!
     
  2. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Likely maintenance. Call your ISP and ask.
     
  3. aiRWaLKRe

    Member aiRWaLKRe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    You need to get the cable company out to test the things outside like the lines and any type of splitters or amps they might of installed. And ask them, when on the phone, to bring out their newest modem to switch yours out. I have my cable company come out about once every 1 to 1.5 years, cause the equipment outside goes bad ( there is a splitter for the cable modem and 4 tv hookups in the house) and I usually have them replace my modem too, and a couple times it was a new model. I live in florida, home of many lightening storms, so I need to have the outside equip checked sometimes. Of course I protect my inside stuff with UPS's but thats not the subject of talk here. So it would be good to have them come out and check their equipment.
     
  4. Theraima
    OP

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    Also I forgot to say that on my dads computer, everything runs just fine without having to wait for videos to load etc. Also I dont think it is ISP's fault since the internet works well on my dads computer but not on my laptop..

    Help is needed!
     
  5. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  6. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    Dad's comp is plugged into the router, and you are using wireless capabilities with your laptop?

    Try plugging your laptop into the router when having problems, disable the wireless connection on the laptop, and see if you still have problems when using a wired connection.

    If you still have problems, and dad's comp is fine: it's your laptop.

    If it clears up: it's the router or your wireless. So borrow another laptop or borrow a different wireless adapter.

    If the other device/wireless adapter works fine while yours is bad: it's your laptop

    If the other device has a problem also: It's interference or your wireless router is dying. You can now either try a reboot of the router (can fix things) or borrow another router and try that out.

    If the different router also has problems: It's interference from some other electronics.
     
  7. Theraima
    OP

    Member Theraima I own this desert, bitches!

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Clouds
    Country:
    Finland
    @moose3 The cable goes from my dads computer --> router --> laptop.

    @Blake1710 I changed the DNS a few hours ago, it worked fine, now its acting up again..

    Also my wireless internet has been also acting up, now that I think of it I cant play Goldeneye 007 properly cause of fucking big lag..
     

Share This Page