Hacking Interesting Issue. I've done some extensive troubleshooting...

demosthenes2010

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello All,

I am an IT consultant and like to think of myself as being pretty technically savvy generally. I have built out 13,000 game emulation machine with dozens of systems.
I am aware that this is not emulation and that this is not IT consulting. I mention these things only to help people not waste their time with very basic troubleshooting steps.
I am generally aware of how the various pieces of this process should work yet I can't figure out why this particular issue is occurring for me.

So, I had originally set up my Wii to use USB Loader GX and everything was working fine.

I had loaded my original 70 games or so using WBFS Manager 4.0. These were originally ISOs that WBFS Manager 4.0 converted into WBFS and placed on the new external HD which WBFS Manager 4.0 had just formatted for me.

All 70 games worked correctly through USB Loader GX.

I later found about a dozen games that I also wanted to load.

This time I used Wii Backup Manager because I'd downloaded them in WBFS format and realized that WBFS Manager 4.0 would not allow me to place them on the drive.

Here is where it gets interesting.

Both WBFS Manager 4.0 and Wii Backup Manager can see the games.

USB Loader GX will only show those games added to the drive by Wii Backup Manager.

USB Loader does list the storage space of the external HD and not the SD card at the bottom, so I know that it recognizes the external HD and appears to know that it is the primary storage device.

I am able to pull all 82 games from the drive back to my PC (which I am doing now) and I'm assuming that after formatting the drive and copying them all back that they will all show up (all 82 of them) but I'm curious what Wii Backup Manager might be doing that would confuse USB Loader GX.

Some hints -