Installing linux on an old laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by 3bbb7, Nov 17, 2012.

Nov 17, 2012
  1. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I have an old laptop and i want to install linux on it. I want to install linux mint. How would I do that. I am looking to completely start from scratch, delete everything and install it. Windows vista sucks.
    I tried Easybcd and installed windows xp but it didn't work, so I'm going to try again but install linux mint this time.

    How would I go and completely install linux mint onto this computer and start from scratch? Im not good with this stuff..
     
  2. LockeCole_101629

    Member LockeCole_101629 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    New Zealand
    how old is old?

    does it have capability to boot from usb?
    if it can boot from usb you might want to try http://www.xpud.org/

    just install it to your stick drive and boot it, done.
     
  3. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    like 4 year old. It has windows vista and its so slow now
     
  4. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    There are two methods I know. First one is downloading an ISO from the Linux Mint website and burning it on a DVD (You can use the program imgburn for that, but software like Nero and similiar should work too). The other method is burning the ISO on a pendrive by using a software called Unetbootin.

    Of course, you have to go to your BIOS and configure it to boot from the DVD drive or pendrive first.

    I never used Linux Mint, but I am sure they must have a user-friendly installer so just follow the instructions.
     
  5. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Could I just add the linux mint iso to easybcd and then boot mint from the selection menu and just install mint over the entire drive? Or is it necessary to have a usb or disc?
     
  6. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Erm... I don't think you could do that. It could even boot and start the instalation process, but in the middle of the instalation process the iso would be deleted along with Windows Vista (since they both are stored in the hard drive) and without the iso the installer would fail.

    So, I would recommend using a disc or a usb drive.
     
  7. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks i'll try that. Any idea how long it would take to install linux on it?
     
  8. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    If you don't find any problems about half hour or less
     
  9. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Okay cool Ill try once mint is done downloading
     
  10. Psionic Roshambo

    Member Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,707
    Country:
    United States
    I would recommend formatting the entire hard drive first, Vista removal can be a pain if you do not.
     
  11. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    How would I do that?
     
  12. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, if Linux Mint installer is similar to Ubuntu's there should be an option like "Delete Windows and install Mint" or "Erase the hard drive and install Mint". This should do the trick.
     
  13. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Ok the unetbootin program wasnt working so I am using pendrivelinux right now to install mint to my usb.
     
  14. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    I installed it and its working amazingly. How do I install compiz though??
    I installed CCSM from synaptic and it shows up in control center now but none of the effects are working :/
     
    RodrigoDavy likes this.
  15. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,279
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    ._. You happen to think to install compiz as well?
     
  16. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    Linux Mint uses the same package manager as Ubuntu, right?
    "sudo apt-get install compiz compizconfig-settings-manager"
    In the terminal.
     
  17. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm I already had those installed and enabling effects didnt do anything... Ill try reinstalling them
     
  18. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    heres what came up when doing that:
    Code:
    user@user ~ $ sudo apt-get install compiz compizconfig-settings-manager
    [sudo] password for user:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree   
    Reading state information... Done
    compizconfig-settings-manager is already the newest version.
    compiz is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
      libwnck2.20-cil python-mutagen python-mpd libgnome-desktop-2-17
      libgnomedesktop2.20-cil librsvg2-2.18-cil dockmanager
      libgnome-keyring1.0-cil
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 21 not upgraded.
    user@user ~ $
    
    yea whenever I enable something in compiz no effects work.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What model computer?
     
  20. 3bbb7
    OP

    Member 3bbb7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Since my last post i figured out how to get it working but I still have another issue. Sometimes when i enable or disable some effects on compiz, all of them stop working and all my effects disapear. The windows switch to how they looked before I enabled compiz. I have to do compiz --replace again to get the effects to work again

    Model: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&objectID=c01632156
     

Share This Page