Homebrew In regards to emulators on NEW3DS

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
Now that I have the lovely menuhax back on my NEW3DS
I'm interested in trying emulation again. it's been awhile. I know about retroarch but I am not a big fan of it.
Though if it needs to be used for filters etc. I will use it.

Now I just want to know if these are possible AT FULL SPEED or near it.

GBA
NES
SNES (Yes even chip games like super metroid/super mario rpg.)
GBC/GB
Possibly MAME?
Sega genesis/32
Maybe capcom arcade system


If so can you give me the name of the emulators and proper settings to get them full speed or near it?

Thank you a bunch guys!
 

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
Retroarch is the best way to go! :)
Yes I know it's probably the best bet. But I know how nightlies are frequently stuff gets broken. And doesn't work. What's the most stable nightly iyo sliver?
mGBA default settings. (Sound isn't full speed yet.)

Thanx for your contribution. I just tried to run ff6 on this. it ran kinna' choppy music wise.
 

Rosselman

Spooky Skeleton
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Location
Santiago
XP
345
Country
Chile
Retroarch has you covered. Just install the cores for the systems you want.
I have been using the December 9 nightlies for a long time, if that's worth something.
 
Last edited by Rosselman,

Stack3r

Shizuo Heiwajima
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
977
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Ikebukuro
XP
1,391
Now that I have the lovely menuhax back on my NEW3DS
I'm interested in trying emulation again. it's been awhile. I know about retroarch but I am not a big fan of it.
Though if it needs to be used for filters etc. I will use it.

Now I just want to know if these are possible AT FULL SPEED or near it.

GBA
NES
SNES (Yes even chip games like super metroid/super mario rpg.)
GBC/GB
Possibly MAME?
Sega genesis/32
Maybe capcom arcade system


If so can you give me the name of the emulators and proper settings to get them full speed or near it?

Thank you a bunch guys!
The link in my sig has all the information you need to know ;)
 

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
Retroarch has you covered. Just install the cores for the systems you want.
I have been using the December 9 nightlies for a long time, if that's worth something.

Sounds good. any particular settings you use for the cores I listed above?
And do they play properly ? ESPECIALLY SNES/ NES./GB/GBC

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The link in my sig has all the information you need to know ;)
Slasher I know and I appreciate all your work on that thread. But I want to make sure I get a nice stable nightly.
I hear of some new way to play the sound?
dynarec or?

Is this better overall or?
 

Rosselman

Spooky Skeleton
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Location
Santiago
XP
345
Country
Chile
Sounds good. any particular settings you use for the cores I listed above?
And do they play properly ? ESPECIALLY SNES/ NES./GB/GBC
They play full speed most of the time for me. PocketSNES is the only SNES emu with Super FX chip emulation that I'm aware of.

As for the settings, the only thing I have changed is the aspect ratio to 1:1 and enabled the circle pad to emulate a D-Pad.
 

Stack3r

Shizuo Heiwajima
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
977
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Ikebukuro
XP
1,391
Sounds good. any particular settings you use for the cores I listed above?
And do they play properly ? ESPECIALLY SNES/ NES./GB/GBC

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Slasher I know and I appreciate all your work on that thread. But I want to make sure I get a nice stable nightly.
I hear of some new way to play the sound?
dynarec or?

Is this better overall or?
From what I'm aware of, the last good build with not many issues is the dec 9th one and dynarec for now is not fully implemented last time I checked, you can use it though
 

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
They play full speed most of the time for me. PocketSNES is the only SNES emu with Super FX chip emulation that I'm aware of.

As for the settings, the only thing I have changed is the aspect ratio to 1:1 and enabled the circle pad to emulate a D-Pad.
Thank you sir!
From what I'm aware of, the last good build with not many issues is the dec 9th one and dynarec for now is not fully implemented last time I checked, you can use it though
awesome ill go get the dec 9 from your thread.
if anybody else has anything to add please do
 

Heran Bago

Where do puyo come from?
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
3,098
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Foggy California
Website
heranbago.com
XP
1,162
Country
United States
I couldn't get SNES Yoshi's Island running perfectly in any of retroarc's cores. One of them was pretty close but maaaaan.

I've been happy with the others though. Genesis, GBC, NES, all great.

The screen rotation feature is weird for retroarc in that it mirrors the screen, but I've actually found it really fun to play old familiar platformers right-to-left after swapping the dpad left/right.
 

Rosselman

Spooky Skeleton
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
463
Trophies
0
Location
Santiago
XP
345
Country
Chile
I couldn't get SNES Yoshi's Island running perfectly in any of retroarc's cores. One of them was pretty close but maaaaan.

I've been happy with the others though. Genesis, GBC, NES, all great.

The screen rotation feature is weird for retroarc in that it mirrors the screen, but I've actually found it really fun to play old familiar platformers right-to-left after swapping the dpad left/right.
If you want to play Yoshi's Island, I would recommend running the GBA version with gpSP.
 

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
I couldn't get SNES Yoshi's Island running perfectly in any of retroarc's cores. One of them was pretty close but maaaaan.

I've been happy with the others though. Genesis, GBC, NES, all great.

The screen rotation feature is weird for retroarc in that it mirrors the screen, but I've actually found it really fun to play old familiar platformers right-to-left after swapping the dpad left/right.
im most concerned with snes emulation. luckily on my 2ds. i can play the gba version of yoshi island with palette restore and sound restore hacks. its basically like snes one then : D
 

Heran Bago

Where do puyo come from?
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
3,098
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Foggy California
Website
heranbago.com
XP
1,162
Country
United States
If you want to play Yoshi's Island, I would recommend running the GBA version with gpSP.
Oh yeah, for sure. There are even rom hacks for it that restore the old colors and sounds if you can't stand yoshi making constipation noises while flutterjumping. I'm all about that HHHRRRRRRRRNNNNN though.

My benchmarks for SNES emulation are always Mario World, Yoshi's Island, and the two proper Kirby games. Most everything an handle Mario World, and almost nothing outside of computers can handle Kirby's Dreamland 3.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

im most concerned with snes emulation. luckily on my 2ds. i can play the gba version of yoshi island with palette restore and sound restore hacks. its basically like snes one then : D
Yeah exactly. Just avoid the special chip games and it's a good time for SNES emulation.
 

bbcali89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
418
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Chicago
XP
715
Country
United States
Oh yeah, for sure. There are even rom hacks for it that restore the old colors and sounds if you can't stand yoshi making constipation noises while flutterjumping. I'm all about that HHHRRRRRRRRNNNNN though.

My benchmarks for SNES emulation are always Mario World, Yoshi's Island, and the two proper Kirby games. Most everything an handle Mario World, and almost nothing outside of computers can handle Kirby's Dreamland 3.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Yeah exactly. Just avoid the special chip games and it's a good time for SNES emulation.

does super metroid play alright?
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nintendo related anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't think any 3DSes sold now have dual IPS
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Get to the Wii lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    That HDMI adapter is awesome
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like 9 bucks on Amazon and it just works, with gekko cheats it's fantastic, perfectly balanced.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Sure psi I'll just order a 3ds HDMI
    port wait shit
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wii...motion controls...ew.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Yeah who in their right mind wants
    movement in viduha gaems
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Gyro's fine when aiming or looking around, but to build an entire game around it or pointer-based motion, neglecting comfortable and useable standard controls...just no.
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    god i was up at 12 yesterday doing hmw and my fucking wifi went out
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    That's why you act friendly to neighbors :teach:
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    i live in an apartment
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Then you should be able to pick and choose
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    I live under a rock
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I am a rock
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Smoking the rock?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Blowing the rock for publicity
  • MORSHU8KRTXON @ MORSHU8KRTXON:
    :p1ng:kinda looks like avgn
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Homemade gryo so delicious
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I guess it would be kebobs for Europe?
  • Flame @ Flame:
    Kebab!!!!
  • Flame @ Flame:
    get it right!
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Ah, unfortunate, but true. Still made as if it was cheap, though.
  • HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker:
    Whoops. I apparently didn't scroll down. (slams head on desk)
    HarvHouHacker @ HarvHouHacker: I was responding to this. https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/24320/view