Gaming IMGburn won't read GigaWare DV-R?

saison

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
314
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United States
So I just bought some DVD-R GigaWare discs and I was gonna burn this Multi-GC ISO onto it. But IMGburn wouldn't read the disc, it just kept my drivers blank. They're brand new discs, and I'm pretty sure it's not the discs' fault.

Any reason why it's doing this? And is there a better, free, burning program that will be applicable for my GC ISOs?
 

PythonEater

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
8
Country
United States
ImgBurn is by far the best free image burning software I've ever found. You could give the trial of Alcohol 120% a shot to see if it's just the program. It could be the discs, and it could also your DVD burner. Try burning to another DVD to see if that works.
 

Elritha

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
2,037
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
122
Country
Canada
More than likely it is a case of cheap media and not Imgburn's fault. Trying another burning application won't help. You could try updating your dvd burners firmware (if there is an update), it can help with recognizing problem discs.

Either that get better quality media next time.
 

saison

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
314
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United States
Tried out the Alcohol 120% demo and it resulted the same, but through it's easier to navigate GUI, I found out that my DVD drive doesn't read DVD-R... What a bish, eh?
 

kobykaan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
2,993
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
196
Country
saison said:
Tried out the Alcohol 120% demo and it resulted the same, but through it's easier to navigate GUI, I found out that my DVD drive doesn't read DVD-R... What a bish, eh?


blink.gif
DVD DRIVE!? or DVD BURNER?!

are you getting confused here?
blink.gif


Please don't tell us your putting a blank DVD-R disk in your DVD rom drive and hoping it will read/burn a blank disk
q47k9ye0usj3vpjl82rh.gif


try burning at a lower speed if its not working at the speed its rated at try half the burn speed rate!
 

saison

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
314
Trophies
0
XP
220
Country
United States
Um.... My parents used to burn DVD's no problem, so I was assuming it would work the same with a game's ISO...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
  • F @ Forseenink3938:
    Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?
    Gift
    F @ Forseenink3938: Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?