Hacking I'm in the TestMenu... why?

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,057
Trophies
0
Website
ha1vorsen.com
XP
1,763
Country
United States
I have a new 3DS EUR on 9.2.
I made a CTRNAND backup on my new 3DS XL USA since it isn't functional at the moment.

I then injected the CTRNAND into an emunand of the new 3DS. It wouldn't boot, so I used the original SecureInfo_A from sysNAND.

Leaving it at that just um.. gets me to the test menu? I never enabled this through Config, I haven't even USED config in months.

It doesn't seem to boot after changing the region of the secureinfo, as well.
 

Aletron9000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,714
Trophies
0
Location
Classified
XP
1,447
Country
United States
I do have Smash... why?

if you can launch the game cart and get into the homebrew menu, launch decrypt9, you could dump the CTRNAND/NAND Restore. You might be able the fix the home menu from the CTRNAND partition then restoring it.

I don't know if this will work, I am just assuming it will. I have never tested it.
 
Last edited by Aletron9000,

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,057
Trophies
0
Website
ha1vorsen.com
XP
1,763
Country
United States
BTW, when you do get your home menu working again, look up a dev menu that installs to NAND. that will fix this error
I already have DevMenu installed to NAND. That's the thing.

I feel like I'm not being clear;

I'm injecting a new 3DS USA CTRNAND (ctrtransfer) into a New 3DS EUR.

The USA already has every dev app installed, plus the test menu.
I transferred this CTRNAND into EU's emuNAND. It won't boot, no matter what I do.

OR, when it DOES boot, with some SecureInfo trickery, it only boots TestMenu. I never, ever loaded or selected this menu, just downloaded and installed it. Never used or opened it.
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,

Aletron9000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,714
Trophies
0
Location
Classified
XP
1,447
Country
United States
I already have DevMenu installed to NAND. That's the thing.

I feel like I'm not being clear;

I'm injecting a new 3DS USA CTRNAND (ctrtransfer) into a New 3DS EUR.

The USA already has every dev app installed, plus the test menu.
I transferred this CTRNAND into EU's emuNAND. It won't boot, no matter what I do.

OR, when it DOES boot, with some SecureInfo trickery, it only boots TestMenu. I never, ever loaded or selected this menu, just downloaded and installed it. Never used or opened it.

I might be getting confused, but are you getting test menu after booting emunand?
Can you boot into the sysnand ok?
 
Last edited by Aletron9000,

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,057
Trophies
0
Website
ha1vorsen.com
XP
1,763
Country
United States
Backups?
I'm just trying to get emuNAND to boot, and I don't know if I did something wrong.
I didn't brick anything, I just want to know what I have to do to get this to work.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

And, err, I just did a CTRTransfer for a 2.1E and THAT isn't booting on emuNAND. Definitely not transferring this to sysNAND...

(Yes, Luma3DS supports 2.x NFIRMS as of a few nightlies ago, tested by myself)

And yes, I did delete the Nintendo 3DS folder and reinsert the card while I was in the homebrew menu.

I thought it may be the SD Card, so I tried another one. No dice.
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,

Aletron9000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
1,714
Trophies
0
Location
Classified
XP
1,447
Country
United States
Backups?
I'm just trying to get emuNAND to boot, and I don't know if I did something wrong.
I didn't brick anything, I just want to know what I have to do to get this to work.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

And, err, I just did a CTRTransfer for a 2.1E and THAT isn't booting on emuNAND. Definitely not transferring this to sysNAND...

(Yes, Luma3DS supports 2.x NFIRMS as of a few nightlies ago, tested by myself)

And yes, I did delete the Nintendo 3DS folder and reinsert the card while I was in the homebrew menu.

I thought it may be the SD Card, so I tried another one. No dice.


"clone sysnand to emunand" means copy your sysnand to your emunand.
if your sysnand is ok, your emunand will be ok.

also, when you do get this fixed, make a sysnand and emunand backup.
 

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,057
Trophies
0
Website
ha1vorsen.com
XP
1,763
Country
United States
"clone sysnand to emunand" means copy your sysnand to your emunand.
if your sysnand is ok, your emunand will be ok.

also, when you do get this fixed, make a sysnand and emunand backup.
I have backups, everything except emuNAND related stuff is working. I cannot get emuNAND to boot, whether it's CTRTransfer, 2.1CTRTransfer (Plailect guide, and yes, it works and boots on my other system's emuNAND), and the original sysNAND copied to emuNAND.

None
of them boot.
That's my problem. I don't see the point in making backups; those are completely unrelated to the issue.
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Uremum made me a sandwich