If you are using a DS Rom

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by gizmo_gal, Apr 14, 2008.

Apr 14, 2008

If you are using a DS Rom by gizmo_gal at 2:38 PM (1,729 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I'm wondering about how you get a "Freind code" from a Rom? Many Flash Carts tout on their boxes that they are Download Play compatible and "WFC" friendly or what not but could someone help me figure this out:

    If 1000's of people download the same Rom, then aren't they all going to wind up with conflicting friend codes? Or are the codes generated only between the DS and the Game itself?

    So that means if I get a DS lite, the my DS friend code for say, Mario Kart DS is no longer any good?
     
  2. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's generated by the .SAV I think.
    No, people don't get the same code.
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The code is based on your WFC ID and the game's unique code, and a random seed. There is CRC8 for validity purposes too. As for duplicate friend codes, up to 2,147,483,648 friend codes can be issued for a single game. I think that's more than enough.
     
  4. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    You have to write to Nintendo and ask for it. Once you get through a few layers of customer service and tech support, they'll give you one.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    loading the same copy of the game into a different hardware will generate a different friend code. with roms just delete the save file and generate a new friend code.

    -another world
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can transfer your WFC ID from one DS to another.
     
  7. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    You guys might want to check the batteries in your sarcasm detectors. Apologies if my reply sounded like I was being serious. I was not.
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately, you just can't tell anymore.
     
  9. gizmo_gal
    OP

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Har Har Har, yeah as if.... [​IMG]
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i agree, isn't that what the =P face is for? [​IMG]

    -another world
     
  11. Holaitsme

    Member Holaitsme 10/10 would be loyal again

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    846
    Country:
    United States
    even if it is a rom it generates a unique friend code for you when you go on wifi with a game for the first time
     
  12. omarroms

    Member omarroms GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I think the friend code is generated base on the game and the DS your using. I remember trying to connect to WFC with a different DS and it said that the ID didn't match and had to generate a new one for the DS I was using. I choose to go ahead and change it since it was a .sav copy on my sister's flashcart. I don't think two people can have the same friend code.
     
  13. strata8

    Member strata8 Look! A pointless distraction!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Australia
    That's probably why it says "Your DS hardware info has been saved to the game cart. Please use this DS from now on." Or something [​IMG]
     
  14. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep thats exactly why it says that.

    And I think writing to nintendo about this is a great idea [​IMG]
     
  15. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Stop picking on the newbies [​IMG] Who else will I pick on if they all leave before I get a chance at them.
     

Share This Page