I think my wii bricked

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Basic84, Feb 17, 2013.

Feb 17, 2013

I think my wii bricked by Basic84 at 9:48 PM (798 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Basic84
    OP

    Newcomer Basic84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I installed 4.1u system menu on my wii 4.3u. Now my menu won't turn on when I start up the wii any advice to fix it. Thanks.
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    if you have bootmii installed load it up and restore your backed up nand otherwise you are fucked. you can send it to big N but they might not fix it or will charge you a lot.
     
  3. strai

    Newcomer strai Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    is there any benefit in 4.1 system menu than 4.3?
     
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    maybe for regionfree? But with neogamma i can load everything on 4.3e also!
     
  5. jagotu

    Newcomer jagotu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Wii hacking rule number 1: Downgrading or installing patched updates is unsupported, dangerous, and may permanently brick your Wii.

    Besides, since the introduction of letterbomb there is no reason to downgrade. Everything you can do on 4.1 is possible on 4.3, too. (Feel free to prove me wrong)
     
  6. Basic84
    OP

    Newcomer Basic84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Is all wii nands the same and i'm not talking about saved game data thats included when you dump your nand.
     
  7. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    No, they are different.
    While you can install a different or newly created nand there are problems with that
    eg the corrupted sectors of the new one must be a superset of the old ones
    and iirc you need at least your wiis keys (but if you can launch bootmii it can extract them)
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    do you have bootmii installed with a backup nand? if not than there's nothing you can do
     

Share This Page