I think I'm screwed...

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by GeekyGuy, Jul 20, 2009.

Jul 20, 2009

I think I'm screwed... by GeekyGuy at 12:51 AM (1,305 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    I am starting this new thread in hopes that maybe someone will suggest a last-resort sort of thing that will bail me out of my turmoil, though it's not looking good. I'm not even sure what has actually caused these problems, as I've experienced recent changes to my PC, both intended and not.

    The symptoms:

    -McAfee virus protection turning off on its own, causing me to have to manually turn it back on once or twice per session of PC usage (seemingly fixed after using Spybot).
    -Scandisk won't run, nor can I fix errors manually via the cmd prompt (when restarting my computer it tells me the utility is not found).
    -Now I can't even back up my stuff using Nero Burning Rom, as I receive a message asking me to ask the administrator to give me permission to do so -- something I've never experienced before today.

    Recent changes:

    -I used WinASO Registry Optimizer the other day.
    -Spybot S&D found malware today.

    My predicament:

    -I cannot use Scandisk and fix disk errors.
    -I cannot back-up files.
    -Uncertain what other issues might soon crop up.

    Solution? [​IMG] (Note: I don't possess an actual copy of Windows XP -- my computer only allowed me to make a set of recovery CDs.)
     
  2. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    first of all unistall mcafee....probs biggest malware/virus you have on your pc.

    boot in safe mode w/ networking and install super anti spyware and run that
     
  3. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Alright. I uninstalled McAfee, restarted in Safe Mode with Networking, ran a full scan in Super Antispyware (already had it on my PC), but it didn't find anything. I went ahead and installed Avira Antivir in place of McAfee, but what now? I still can't fix disk errors, nor back-up files using Burning Rom.
     
  4. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If I remember correctly there's a program inside the Win XP system files that verifies system files, then deletes and replace them if they incorrect file sizes. However the name escapes me right now, maybe I'll remember tomorrow.
     
  5. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    try using a better anti virus such as bitdefender, kaspersky, or avast
     
  6. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try nod32. Use it forever.
     
  7. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I just don't think anti-virus/spyware software is gonna help me at this point. I'm thinking I likely got rid of anything malicious, but I'm wondering if using WinASO didn't screw me up, causing various things tied to the registry to make these issues arise. [​IMG]
     
  8. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    1. Get another computer somewhere, from your parents, a friend, brother/sister, etc.
    2. Let that computer download a copy of Windows XP (come on, it's only 700mb, maybe even less).
    3. Be sure the other computer has an uberawesome virusscanner (like mentioned before, nod32 is pretty good, you could also download this, if you don't want to pirate it, get a trial).
    4. Put your harddisk in the other computer, backup all the essential files, pray the virus won't spread, else, nod32 will eventually take care of it.
    5. Scan all your files, and clean it. Everything is backed up and clean now?
    6. Reinstall XP on your own computer.
    7. Put all the files back on your harddisk (this time like, with a LAN cable or something).
    8. ????
    9. Profit.
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if spybot found malware then no doubt you may have some it missed use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware software and install and UPDATE remember with all antivirus software and malware removal tools they work best updated!!!

    scan and remove everything they find!

    then reboot and load in safemode and scan and remove again to be sure!

    as above use something other than McAfee it sucks!

    see if you can load an windows disk and use it to get into recovery mode then run chkdsk /r or /p from there read more info on recovery console here
     
  10. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I ran Malwarebytes again in Safe Mode, and it did find one thing: it was a file from Malwarebytes -- something called "Dont.Steal.Our.Software." [​IMG] I shit you not. Long story short, a torrent I came across had a keygen for registering for the full version. Obviously, using it was not a great idea. I uninstalled Malwarebytes just now, and I'll reinstall the free version after this...hopefully with no problems.

    In any case, I went into Recovery mode after another restart, but my computer goes into an HP version, which doesn't have a command prompt. It allows me to run a test, which found no problems, but other than that, it only allows me to do a normal recovery. I guess I'll have to opt for that once I can find all my software to replace.

    I still have my suspicions, though, that these problems may have been caused by using WinASO. Is anyone familiar with side effects from using this software for optimizing their registry?
     
  11. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    copy all your files to an external disk and reformat. it is by far the easiest option, and a procedure you should get used to doing if you use windows quite frankly.
     
  12. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but again, I cannot back-up files. That's my biggest obstacle right now. Nero won't allow me to burn anymore, and when I tried to simply use Window's option for burning, it too gave me an error.

    Looks like I'm just going to do a system restore. Hopefully that will fix any issues.
     
  13. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't bet on it. Screwed me over a few weeks ago and I ended up having to reformat.
     
  14. B-Blue

    Member B-Blue im a slut

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,444
    Country:
    Use TeraCopy to copy your files to an external hard drive, it might work.

    TeraCopy
     
  15. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    beg, borrow, buy, or steal an external hard disk drive then, and just copy the files
     
  16. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    have you tried using IMGBURN and burn files and folders to disk or dvd blank?!

    edit: you could also use a LINUX LIVE DISK boot up into LINUX and use the burn software that comes with it to burn your files to disks [​IMG]
     
  17. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...now that could work. I believe you can install Ubuntu inside Windows without overwriting the OS, right?
     
  18. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Live Disk means it runs straight off the disk no need to install anything.
     
  19. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not this particular piece of software, but I have had trouble with registry cleanup software in the past. I was using Ccleaner, I let it remove "unused" registry keys and it made a right mess. Nothing quite as drastic as what you describe and I don't remember my exact problem, but a quick System Restore fixed everything. Won't be running that again in a hurry.
     

Share This Page