1. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    So i tried installing 6.0.0 with ChiorDujorNX and all went well until i tried loading SXOS. After loading i was welcomed with a blank black screen.
    I rushed to discord and users said to restore it. Is it my switch thats bricked or is it the cfw.
    My fuse value is 5.1.0's fuse value i am currently transferring a nand backup to my sd card.
    lets keep the un useful "you shouldn't have been messing with it" comments out.
    idk what i did wrong or if its just CFW atm.

    Edit:Some people are saying that its because i used the exFat option in ChoirDujorNX.

    edit 2:Draxzelex says this
    "So people don't follow suit, the way exFAT is enabled in 6.0 is different than other firmware and midstor updated to firmware 6.0 with exFAT. Now ChoiDujourNX has no idea how to properly add exFAT to 6.0 (thanks rajkosto) so it probably made a few unsafe assumptions and wound up semi-bricking the console. So in reality, neither SX OS nor firmware 6.0 bricked his Switch but in reality it was ChoiDujourNX. If you want to update using ChoiDujourNX, don't use exFAT until its supported officially." thank you

    edit 3 I was able to recover the brick with a rawnand & boot 0/1 restore.
     
    Last edited by midstor, Sep 3, 2018
  2. Scitzo

    Scitzo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    If your fuses are still at 5.1 values, then simply restore with your 5.1 backup and you're back off to the races bud.

    As for 6.0, I'm not gonna -tell- you what to do, but I'd highly -recommend- not playing with fire until its understood completely. (Hint: 6.0 is fire).
     
  3. Alex S

    Alex S Creator Of WWHDM, And Metroid Fusion XER0X!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Country:
    United States
    put back on boot.dat. same thing happened to me when i accidentally clicked the album during an ftp transfer
     
  4. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I'm restoring atm i hope its not corrupted xD
     
  5. Scitzo

    Scitzo Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United States
    Crossing my fingers for you bud. I personally store each backup on three different mediums just to be extra safe.
     
  6. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    wdym, i installed 6.0.0 which messed up my sys

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I have 2 backups one of google drive one on my pc so lol i hope this fixes
     
  7. Alex S

    Alex S Creator Of WWHDM, And Metroid Fusion XER0X!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried booting horizon or just sx os?
     
  8. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not going to try to boot Horizon because i don't wanna burn my fuse value, i'm restoring a rawnand atm
     
  9. Alex S

    Alex S Creator Of WWHDM, And Metroid Fusion XER0X!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    695
    Country:
    United States
    so it was definitely an sx os brick. if your boot.dat size is anything other than 15kb (i.e. 32kb is what caused it for me) it will black screen and it basically disables loading the sx payload because its corrupted
     
  10. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,555
    Country:
    United States
    Was the SD card formatted as exFAT?
     
  11. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    i get package1 errors when trying to load atmosphere via hekate or reinx so idk
     
  12. xxBLACKBEARDxx

    xxBLACKBEARDxx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Canada
    This guy had the same issue at the end he said it was normal around 8:45
     
  13. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    People are saying its because i used exFat when installing.
     
  14. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,555
    Country:
    United States
    So people don't follow suit, the way exFAT is enabled in 6.0 is different than other firmware and midstor updated to firmware 6.0 with exFAT. Now ChoiDujourNX has no idea how to properly add exFAT to 6.0 (thanks rajkosto) so it probably made a few unsafe assumptions and wound up semi-bricking the console. So in reality, neither SX OS nor firmware 6.0 bricked his Switch but in reality it was ChoiDujourNX. If you want to update using ChoiDujourNX, don't use exFAT until its supported officially.
     
    Scitzo likes this.
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    If ChoiDuJourNX was open source we could fix it ourselves. Remind me again why something critical like ChoiDuJourNX is not open source?
     
  16. midstor

    OP midstor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    That is true, why isn't a firmware installer that can brick your system in 5 minutes open source?
     
  17. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,214
    Country:
    United States
    I updated to 6.0.0 exfat with ChoiDujourNX when it was first leaked and was able to start it with Hekate (with 6.0 support) and had no issues...
     
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,555
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I was just informed in another thread so it would appear that its an issue with SX OS V1.7 only
     
  19. jajamundo

    jajamundo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Country:
    United States
    6.0.0 is already up? Officially of course
     
  20. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,214
    Country:
    United States
    Nope
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - bricked, console,