Hacking I have the original R4

bumjeans

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
172
Country
i think using firmware 1.18/9. I notice a lot of people mention R4 with YSMENU here. I am not sure what that means but should I update my cart to YSMENU?
 

Tac 21

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
868
Trophies
0
XP
845
Country
Canada
I never did and I can still play many games.

I don't care for YSmenu. plus it's pretty well dead.
 

bumjeans

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
172
Country
Ok thanks

Its just I noticed theres a fix for Sonic Collection on YSmenu and I'm feeling left out on the R4
tongue.gif
Do you think they will fix it for R4 soon?
 

how_do_i_do_that

Blue Wizard is about to die.
Member
Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
5,124
Trophies
0
Location
You have insufficient posts to view user location.
XP
1,666
Country
Antarctica
The question is WHY are you trying to play new games on a flashcart by a company that went under a few years back. It is pretty much almost time to move on to something else.

Other than that, anything under below the USA chronotrigger release works fine with a few exceptions.

If your not already regulating the OG R4 to just gba use, homebrew, dumping, etc, your expectations are unrealistic.
 

bumjeans

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
172
Country
Yeah well just trying to get the most out of my R4. I dont really follow the flashcarts.

What is the best of the current crop then?
 

Dter ic

~
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,756
Trophies
0
Age
25
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
273
Country
bumjeans said:
Yeah well just trying to get the most out of my R4. I dont really follow the flashcarts.

What is the best of the current crop then?

by that you mean whats the best for your r4 ysmenu or you can wait a couple of months and hallelujah MENUdo is here (soon that is)
smile.gif
 

ProtoKun7

GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
7,517
Trophies
0
Location
Gallifrey
XP
1,261
Country
United Kingdom
Sounds like he meant the best of the available flashcarts now.

DS Lite: CycloDS (also available at ShopTemp)

DSi: Probably Ak2i or something.
 

TM2-Megatron

Predacon Commander
Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
1,187
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
225
Country
Canada
ProtoKun7 said:
DSi: Probably Ak2i or something.

That could change to the Supercard DSTWO if it turns out to be everything that's been promised, though. It manages to be cheaper than the Cyclo despite the internal processor, and seems to offer more features for any type of DS, not just the DSi.

Still loyal to my Cyclo, of course, but I did order a DSTWO at that great $30 pre-order bargain.
 

ProtoKun7

GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
7,517
Trophies
0
Location
Gallifrey
XP
1,261
Country
United Kingdom
TM2-Megatron said:
ProtoKun7 said:
DSi: Probably Ak2i or something.

That could change to the Supercard DSTWO if it turns out to be everything that's been promised, though. It manages to be cheaper than the Cyclo despite the internal processor, and seems to offer more features for any type of DS, not just the DSi.

Still loyal to my Cyclo, of course, but I did order a DSTWO at that great $30 pre-oder bargain.
I think the DSTWO will be better than 2i, but I'm used to not suggesting it because it's unreleased.
Loyal to my CycloDS too.
wink.gif
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
219
Country
United States
Tac 21 said:
I never did and I can still play many games.

I don't care for YSmenu. plus it's pretty well dead.
If YSMenu is "pretty well dead" (and I'm not saying that it's not dead), that would make the official firmware Fossilized.
 

ProtoKun7

GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
7,517
Trophies
0
Location
Gallifrey
XP
1,261
Country
United Kingdom
twiztidsinz said:
If YSMenu is "pretty well dead" (and I'm not saying that it's not dead), that would make the official firmware Fossilized.
David Attenborough is actually going to be making a show about it next week.
 

bumjeans

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
172
Country
DSTWO - full GBA emulation? Are they being serious?!!

If that is the case then I could be sold
biggrin.gif


EDIT: oh wait, is that only for DSi? I have a DS Lite.
 

Comrade Cough

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
64
Trophies
0
Location
Fu Manchu's Secret Evil Lair
Website
Visit site
XP
27
Country
United States
bumjeans said:
Will it break anything? E.g. can I still use Rudolph's tools to load GBA roms on my EZ 3in1 cart?

If you are still holding on to your R4 (Like I am.) then switching to YSMenu is a must, especially with the updated .dats coming out. Not to mention people bitch enough and eventually a universal AP patch comes out for the popular games.

Also, you won't have to use Rudolphs tools anymore, since YSMenu autopatches (As long as you have the 3in1 plugged in, just click and play like a NDS game.)
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
219
Country
United States
bumjeans said:
DSTWO - full GBA emulation? Are they being serious?!!

If that is the case then I could be sold
biggrin.gif


EDIT: oh wait, is that only for DSi? I have a DS Lite.
DSi carts work perfectly fine on DS/DSLite, probably since there is no DSi cart which will run in DSi mode so it's running in DS/DSLight mode.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,673
Trophies
0
Location
Manchester
XP
406
Country
United Kingdom
twiztidsinz said:
bumjeans said:
DSTWO - full GBA emulation? Are they being serious?!!

If that is the case then I could be sold
biggrin.gif


EDIT: oh wait, is that only for DSi? I have a DS Lite.
DSi carts work perfectly fine on DS/DSLite, probably since there is no DSi cart which will run in DSi mode so it's running in DS/DSLight mode.

Yes it will work on all machines it just says DSi as to promote the fact that even though the Dsi DsiXl don't have a slot 2 they can still play GBA games
 

amaro

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2007
Messages
432
Trophies
0
Age
110
Location
S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
XP
187
Country
closedeyes.gif
bumjeans said:
i think using firmware 1.18/9. I notice a lot of people mention R4 with YSMENU here. I am not sure what that means but should I update my cart to YSMENU?
Those are questions that do?
Are you sick of knowing that YSMenu is essential in R4
tongue.gif
 

bumjeans

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
205
Trophies
0
XP
172
Country
amaro said:
closedeyes.gif
bumjeans said:
i think using firmware 1.18/9. I notice a lot of people mention R4 with YSMENU here. I am not sure what that means but should I update my cart to YSMENU?
Those are questions that do?
Are you sick of knowing that YSMenu is essential in R4
tongue.gif

Well I havent had to do anything up till now which is why I am asking. So it wasn't 'essential' for me.

Can someone explain exactly how GBA loading works? Can I still choose between NOR and PSRAM and back up my SRAM to .SAV?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    better compression/optimization i guess
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    But it only has like 4 games :tpi:
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what is something you can say about console homebrew but also in the bedroom
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Time to transfer files
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "it was so hard the first time"
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "Time to transfer files" bro having sex with robots
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly knowing ken that isn't that unbelievable
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    arent many ps5 exclusives it's true, but there are a whole lot of ps4 games that got ps5 upgrades
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and those have to be stored on one of the SSDs
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    "time to smash the stack"
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Uremum does like to call me dadbot
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nothing beats a midnight shower
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I'd say there would be more PS5 exclusives...if people could actually buy PS5s.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I mean, if no-one can buy a PS5, and thus is stuck with PS4 (Pros), then companies would still see some profit from developing PS4 games with PS5 upgrades; meanwhile, if they developed a PS5 game, then everyone who can't get that console won't buy that game, especially at launch.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nah every console starts early with low libraries
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    well theyre churning them out as fast as they possibly can, not like Xbox or PC are faring much better with the chip shortages
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and games still take 4-6 years to develop regardless, so its not like sony can conjure up new exclusives out of thin air
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Makes me wonder what they have now and are actually hiding from the public
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I hope in the next 5 years they can move on to even more realistic skin renders and not just make characters look like Shiney clay molds
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm waiting for the ultimate DLC, "The Most Dangerous Game".
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry:
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's just a $1 just shoot some dogs
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I tried the chick fil a sauce Walmart has now it lives to the hype
    Gift
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: I tried the chick fil a sauce Walmart has now it lives to the hype