I got a game... now what?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lolsjoel, Jan 16, 2008.

Jan 16, 2008

I got a game... now what? by lolsjoel at 3:42 AM (1,441 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. lolsjoel
    OP

    Member lolsjoel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    930
    Country:
    United States
    I'm definitely new to the Wii modding scene. I've got all the parts here that I need to program a YAOSM and am just waiting for the release of the Wlip. I guess I'm also waiting for people to experiment with SSBB before I put in my chip as I can't say I feel like being a guinea pig with what might be a brick making security patch. So, that being said, I have a game that I downloaded (Ghost Squad, mvlw-gsquad, 4,699,979,776 bytes) and I'm just wondering what I need to do with it. I've heard some something (possibly) called Brickblocker. Do I need to patch this game, or any game? I'm only planning on playing NTSC-U releases on my NTSC-U system. All the games I've played up till now have been retail, obviously, which includes SMG and the 3.1U update. So all past games I shouldn't have to worry about having them try to update and screw with my system, right?

    In short, what are the steps you guys take once you've downloaded a game in order to get it burned and playing on your modded system?
     
  2. gaboumafou

    Member gaboumafou GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, hello Bobitos! [​IMG]

    Brickblocker is used to stop updates contained in a game to be installed, but it's only useful if you're playing a game from a different region than your console (PAL, NTSC-J...), because it might install an update not suited for your console and brick it...

    If your game and your console are the same region (NTSC-U), you only have to burn the game with IMGburn, and it's okay! The update it might contain won't change anything since it can be used with the console without problem.
     
  3. Melchizedek

    Member Melchizedek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    Canada
    Isn't there a way to make sure the image you downloaded is really from the region you want?
     
  4. shonosuke

    Member shonosuke GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    downloading games is illigal
     
  5. InfernoZeus

    Member InfernoZeus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    only if you don't own the game, but I think most people know that.
     
  6. Sir Spanky

    Member Sir Spanky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RegionFrii (the region changer) also tells you what region the ISO is.
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes. Open the iso with regionfrii. It can tell you the region.
    It can also detect if that's the true region. If it says "Patched, gamecode mismatch" you know the game has been patched only to look like that region.
     
  8. dreadbread

    Newcomer dreadbread Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    quick question.
    what is an ISO? a software? search not found in the wiki.
    thanks!
     
  9. Melchizedek

    Member Melchizedek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    Canada
    Search for .iso on google, it's the exact image of a disc
     

Share This Page