I am new to this.

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Sora de Eclaune, Feb 15, 2011.

Feb 15, 2011

I am new to this. by Sora de Eclaune at 6:46 PM (1,098 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

1. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

United States
    Hello, I am new to this forum. I come here to ask about something that came with the Nintendo DS Lite my friend gave me as a present before he moved away.

Inside the DS card slot was an oddly shaped cartridge with what appears to be a Micro SD card placed in one side. The front reads R4 Revolution for DS (NDSL/NDS). When I boot the handheld, it skips going to the main NDS menu (it shouldn't skip it, for I've reset that feature to manual booting) and instead goes to another menu, with a calendar and the time on it, as well as the word 'akmenu'. Various games are shown on the bottom screen. They are as follows:

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
    Inazuma Eleven
    Drill Dozer.gba
    Something in Japanese that has an icon resembling a :3 face with a leaf on the top of it.
    Tales of Innocence
    Riviera: The Promised Land.gba
    The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past / Four Swords.gba
    Lameboy

As my mother had a Micro SD card adapter for her cell phone, I borrowed it and put the SD card into the computer. There were various files in there with random extensions such as '.nds', '.gba', and '.gbc'.

Also, inside the GBA slot of the DS Lite was what appeared to be the slot-cover, but upon removal (I was going to play Lady Sia) I saw it had a label that read "ezflash V" and had "gba game/ram expansion/rumble pack" under it. I do not know what this is, so I put it back into the slot in case it was something the DS needed to function.

My questions today are...
    1. Is it possible to change the files on this device without harming anything?
    2. What is the GBA cartridge for?