HW4444 owners - DON'T UPDATE YET

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Astral_, Jul 21, 2011.

Jul 21, 2011
  1. Astral_
    OP

    Member Astral_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Latest firmware for AK2i made my own cart unbootable (2 white screens). Acekard's forum are having some discussion about this as well :
    http://www.acekard.com/bbs/viewthread.php?...;extra=page%3D1

    It seems to be on HW4444 revision only, the update software will tell you which revision you have.
     
  2. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, shouldnt this be in the Acekard section so ppl with acekards are aware [​IMG], and btw how can i know if my acekard is HW4444 revision, thanks, i havent updated yet but i was really close to do so.
     
  3. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you should read the first post.
     
  4. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont want to run the updater just in case it doesnt start, i dont wanna risk briking my acekard.
     
  5. Shuji1987

    Member Shuji1987 ~

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    381
    Country:
    Netherlands
    AFAIK you don't update from booting it, you still have to press a button to patch it. Check it out I'd say and shut it down when it's loaded (but hasn't started patching).
     
  6. L_o_N_e_R

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    the updater doesnt patch on boot, so no worries there

    if you're extremely paranoid, AKAIO also does this from its menu, dont remember where tho
     
  7. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Awesome, just checked it, its HW:81, Awesome, will be updating, if anyone wants to check just press start, More ->, Help, and ull see the HW number below (Y), thanks for the help.
    Btw, did anyone who have the problem try to use another flash cart, i mean like use a DSTT or any other flash cart to start the acekard update for 1.4.2, then before starting the update switch to the acekard and run the update, this might solve the problem guys as it will reflash it back to the chessmaster
     
  8. MG4M3R

    Member MG4M3R GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    Brazil
    ...damn...

    Too late...got white screens =p
     
  9. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    MG4M3R can u try the tip i gave, using another flash cart to start the acekard patch and then switching it with acekard?
     
  10. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Wouldnt that simply freeze eveyrthing... Because the other cart doesnt have the files that the cart you booted it up with have.
    Unless u put the files in both flashcart with the exact same location. Well, i highly doubt it work anyways.. Unless you have tried to play a game.. take out cart.. put in and it still plays.
     
  11. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, the thing is its different from running a nds rom game, cause when u start the updater, its all loaded in the nds memory, so u dont need the flash cart, and it doesnt link to any data thats on the micro sd, rather it just flashes the bootloader, if u get what i mean?
    plus, the patcher also tells u to take out the card and put it in, itll still patch the header of the card after switching as long as the patching application is running.
    we just need anyone who experienced the bricking to please try it .
     
  12. MG4M3R

    Member MG4M3R GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    Brazil
    I would like to test it, but I haven't other flashcard right now ...
    As soon as possible, I'll check if it works.
     
  13. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,248
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Man, HW44 seems to be getting the crap treatment now. [​IMG]
     
  14. madeinair

    Newcomer madeinair Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Totally agree man, they just left it in the dark and didnt EVEN test the HW44 flashcarts... jeez
     
  15. kotaro_14

    Newcomer kotaro_14 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, a fast fix is probably on it's way. THAT"S WHY YOU BY THE SUPERCARD DSTWO!!!
     
  16. Trudi Power

    Newcomer Trudi Power Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Pls Don't give up HW444, Acekard team [​IMG]
     
  17. Astral_
    OP

    Member Astral_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    I thought of this at first, but since the updater detects which HW revision you have, running it from another cart would probably say something like "Unknown cart" and not allow you to update.

    I haven't tried it, anyway, so feel free !
     
  18. queenie

    Newcomer queenie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you madeinair! I also have hw:81 by following your directions.
     

Share This Page