HP battery charger randomly not charges

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Infinite Zero, Sep 20, 2010.

Sep 20, 2010
  1. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    As the title says...
    It's not working sometimes and then the next day it works.. Just this after I turned the laptop off, tried to turn it on again and it's not charging again.
    i examined the charger and didnt see noticeable damage, the battery is still working too. i hope it will work later on or tomorrow but can someone tell me some causes, troubleshooting or solutions?
     
  2. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    I have had the same problem, seems like it is a cable in the adapter that is loose. you have to buy a new one, fix it yourself by open the adapter or if you still have warranty on it you can contact hp or the store you bought it from.
     
  3. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    i was thinking the same way too [​IMG] do you know the minimunm cost of an hp g60 445dx? has a rounded shape with a thin and tiny metal.
    damn i hope it works [​IMG]
     
  4. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
  5. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep, the cable's fucked. It might occasionally work, it's going to get worse and become a fire hazard. Just buy a decent quality universal adapter. Cooler Master make some good ones.

    Otherwise, if you get a legit HP replacement, wrap lots of electrical tape around the wire where it leaves the transformer and heads towards your laptop. That's where they usually fail, so you'll want to protect that from occurring in the new one.
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    If your PC can power on with the AC and no battery, then its the third connector in the charger or socket. When battery is in normally the PC battery icon will say plugged in, not charging.

    If it is the cable, you should be able to wiggle it and get it to charge in some certain spot like a broken headphone. If the computer can't turn when it is plugged in without a battery it is most likely the charger, or possibly the socket.
     
  7. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Oh now it works, I'm gonna tell my parents to have it checked and hope it won't cause electric shock or damage.
     
  8. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    This happend to me aswell

    I had to get the charger in a certain spot.

    But you take it to any computer show they will fix it up for you [​IMG]
     
  9. Infinite Zero
    OP

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I had it fixed [​IMG]
    It cost us $40(converted [​IMG])

    I can play TF2 now! The battery seems to be a little weary now. It drains so quick and it costs P9,000 or $200 [​IMG]
     
  10. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    when me charger was like that i though it was the part that you stick into the computer that was loose,
    i tryed to spin it a little and press. Not a good idea since somehow my Moderboard got toasted...
    Luckly i didn't have to pay to have it fixed
     

Share This Page