[HOWTO] Play Rock Band Backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mrkinator, Dec 27, 2008.

Dec 27, 2008

[HOWTO] Play Rock Band Backups by Mrkinator at 3:27 AM (38,408 Views / 0 Likes) 75 replies

  1. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I've seen way too many posts saying they don't know how to play Rock Band "Backups", So Here it is.

    (Ripped straight from my RB customs guide, So if anything says customs, It'll work for backup too)​


    Rock Band Soft-Chip

    This part assumes you have The Homebrew Channel already! If you don’t know what or how to install Wii Homebrew, Google it.

    NOTE: If you have a mod-chip, you probably don’t need to worry about this section, just boot the disc as you normally would. If it doesn’t work with your chip, try the steps.

    Files Needed:
    Soft-Chip (not needed if choosing channel version)
    cIOS Installer

    IOS37:
    Files are in the cIOS Installer readme.


    Optional Files (If Installing Channel Version):

    WAD Manager
    Soft-Chip Channel Version By Mrkinator

    Steps:

    1) Go to your SD Card (in “My Computer”).

    2) On the root of your SD Card, create a folder called 00000001. Inside that, create a folder called 00000025. Inside that, create a folder called v2070. Inside that, put all 17 files of IOS37 in it.

    This is the structure in the end (X:\ being your SD Card) X:00000010000025\v2070

    3) Go back to the Root of your SD

    4) Go to the apps folder (make one if you don’t already have). Make a “Soft-Chip cIOS Installer” (without quotes) folder inside the apps folder. Put the “cios_installer.dol” in that folder and rename it to “boot.dol” (without quotes)

    Optional: If you want the channel version, skip steps 5 and 7. Go to step “Channel Version”NOTE: USE THE LATEST CIOS INSTALLER,DON'T USE THE ONE FOUND IN MY CHANNEL PACK

    5) Go to the SoftChip.zip and copy SoftChip folder inside it (the one with the boot.dol, icon.png and meta.xml inside it). Go back to the apps folder and paste the SoftChip folder.

    6) Pop your SD Card in your Wii and go to The Homebrew Channel. Boot up the cIOS installer. Use the D-PAD left or right to change it to this:

    “Currently selected to install custom IOS37 with IOS37 rev7 dip as IOS 232”.

    Then click A

    7) Once it’s done installing, go to SoftChip in The Homebrew Channel. Make sure you boot under IOS 232 (follow the instructions it says.) Pop in your disc and press A.

    YOU’RE DONE!! Enjoy Rock Band Customs


    Channel Version

    1) Put the channel wad in the WAD folder (Wad folder on the root of your SD, If it’s not there, make it.)
    2) Put the WAD Manager in the Apps Folder
    3) Do step 7 above
    4) Go to WAD Manager in The Homebrew Channel.
    5) Install the Channel. Go back to the Wii Menu
    6) Go to the “Rock Band Launcher” Channel and click start. Make sure your Rock Band Custom Disc in. IOS232 will be preloaded, so Click A.

    YOU’RE DONE!! Enjoy Rock Band Customs
    (and the freaking awesome channel Mrkinator made!)
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I would seperate your thread into several parts and start with an abstract explanation and then go into detail.

    1. How to get the game to work at all
    for originals and modchip users with unmodified versions of the game:
    You need to install either IOS37 or just the disc update.
    (and then detailed description with wufe and WAD Manager)

    2. How to get customs and backups without modchips to work(1. is not needed if you do this)
    install a backup cIOS based on IOS37 and a loader which uses this cIOS
    (and then detailed description with the multi_cios_installer and SoftChip)


    The question still is, which IOS does Rock Band 2 want? SoftChip tells you IOS requested by the game and logs this too.
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Also mention which controllers are supported by the game.
     
  4. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Rockband 2 supports all controllers.
     
  5. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Wiimote and nunchuck too? That's more important, I don't think people want to buy those extra guitars...
     
  6. ringorinfret

    Member ringorinfret GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about wiimote and nunchuck this is a freakin' rock game! get the instruments or dont play it... if you have any guitar it will work thats all there is to it.
     
  7. Arek1985

    Newcomer Arek1985 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'm glad RB2 is compatible with all instruments. Then again I feel the RockBand drums are superior and am glad for the soft chip workaround for when customs take off. Hopefully eventually there are tools like GHOST made for Rockband though which will make customs a breeze.
     
  8. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Wiimote all by itself is used for controlling the Microphone.

    You cannot use a classic controller or nunchuk to play this game. You need the actual plastic instruments.
     
  9. Fat Slaughter Ba

    Newcomer Fat Slaughter Ba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't even need Softchip to run this.
    Just install as IOS 249, then it works with Gamma.
    Done it myself. No problems with any other backups.
     
  10. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    You need it for custom mods and for the actual RB instruments to work...
     
  11. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, What Ga1l0w said.
     
  12. I actually did this...and it did work. =]

    Install as IOS249 and gamma will load it and the rock band instruments!
     
  13. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Is this so it'll work with the Rock Band instruments? Because my friend has the GHWT instruments and he plays RB2 under GAMMA just fine. Everything works as it normally would.
     
  14. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    As long as you are running a cIOS based on IOS37 you will be fine.
     
  15. Fat Slaughter Ba

    Newcomer Fat Slaughter Ba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    This.
    Saves people from having to install another backup loader channel.

    “Currently selected to install custom IOS37 with IOS37 rev7 dip as IOS 232”
    needs to be
    “Currently selected to install custom IOS37 with IOS37 rev7 dip as IOS 249”

    and then it works with Gamma
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, but this has side effects. Did you install a wad after doing this? I think Waninkoko's first custom IOS were cIOS37, but then he went for cIOS36.
     
  17. DarkElfX

    Newcomer DarkElfX Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I have a serious problem. I can run RB2 fine on gamma, but only the mic works.

    I followed the instructions as followed except for one thing, I installed the cIOS with just the dol (I didn't download the the IOS37 Files in the readme).
    I didn't put in the IOS files provided because I thought I could download it online, but there were only 15 files when I downloaded them on wi-fi.
    Also, my homebrew channel is running at IOS36 and my backup-loader is IOS 249 EVEN THOUGH I installed it as IOS 232.

    So I decided to start over again follow your exact instructions in your post, but the cIOS_Installer does not work.
    When I run it, it goes to a black screen and stays there forever.

    Also, The Soft-Chip download Link is invalid. I downloaded the soft-chip.zip and in the folder, I find NOTHING. Please repost a valid link as there are no files in the soft-chip folder.

    Please HELP!
     
  18. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Gamma always uses IOS249, never another IOS(unless you change that yourself in the source). If you installed the cIOS37 at IOS232, you only need to run SoftChip and set it to IOS232.
     
  19. DarkElfX

    Newcomer DarkElfX Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Uh Can you point me to a valid SoftChip link? because the one provided and other ones do not work. The softchip folder in the .rar file is empty.
     
  20. Outsider506

    Newcomer Outsider506 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there any disavantages to doing it this way?
     

Share This Page