How to softmod a Gamecube?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by Mikehoncho16, Jun 7, 2010.

Jun 7, 2010

How to softmod a Gamecube? by Mikehoncho16 at 8:58 PM (8,091 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Mikehoncho16
    OP

    Member Mikehoncho16 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    I've been playing my Gamecube for the past couple of days and JUST realized that the Gamecube is probably softmoddable.
    I went on the internet and to my dismay found that the only way was to buy SD Media Launcher, which is pretty expensive.
    Is there a cheaper alternative (maybe even free?)

    Im willing to pay for a way to softmod, but as cheap as possible.
     
  2. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    You can also use the MaxDrive Pro iirc.
     
  3. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
  4. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    i hear there was a way to do something trugh the modem adapter or broadband adapter. maby run code.
     
  5. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    i think your thinking of the PSO + bba method. it was the first method for loading "backups". iirc it loads gcos which would allow you to run the backups
    though that method is very out of date. sd load would be better i guess, the best thing would probably get a chip or something
     
  6. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    yea it was somethign about backing up games, i think i was also thinking of the dream cast, i read someware you can run code trugh the modem somehow.
     
  7. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    Phantasy Star Online's exploit was first found in for the Sega DreamCast, and then 'ported' to the Nintendo GameCube.
    I think that's what you may mean.
     
  8. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    It was? Why? You could run CD-R games on a dreamcast...
     
  9. MissingNo._

    Member MissingNo._ aka MissingNoL

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    748
    Location:
    Greater Bay Area, California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure. It just was.
    I think I'm right.
     

Share This Page