How to remove Google redirect virus?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by tofast4u, Jan 12, 2013.

Jan 12, 2013
  1. tofast4u
    OP

    Member tofast4u GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    I have a problem on my computer, and this is with any browser that I use (Firefox, Explorer, and Chrome). If I google something and then press on the link I will be redirected to a different website and those websites are random too. The redirect thing happens about 40% of the time I click a link, but it gets very annoying. I already scanned with MalwareBytes and found nothing, same goes for Avast, and Microsoft Essentials. What should I do?
     


  2. moerik

    Member moerik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Canada, Alberta
    Country:
    Canada
    First, make-sure your malware/virus scanners are up-to-date, if not update them.
    Then try scanning in Safe-mode.
    You can get into safe-mode by hitting WindowsKey, and then typing in msconfig.
    Then go to the boot-tab, select the OS (Operating System), and check the box that says; "Safe Boot".
    Then select Minimal, which is located under Safe Boot.
    Re-start your Desktop/Laptop.
    Now run the scans (If possible with minimal critical files), not all together, but one at a time, as they might interfere with each other.
    Report back if MalwareBytes, Microsoft Security Essentials and Avast find nothing.
     
  3. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    person66 likes this.
  4. tofast4u
    OP

    Member tofast4u GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I tried all of that and it didn't work. Also my virus protection stuff are all up to date.
     
  5. Seaking

    Member Seaking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    857
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall windows then.
     
  6. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  8. dj4uk6cjm

    Member dj4uk6cjm GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    United States
    I found a quick guide on how to get rid of the google redirect virus here, hope it helps.
     
    Zetta_x likes this.
  9. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I was going to say make sure you set tdsskiller to scan boot sectors.
     
  10. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    These things are tricky. In fact, my friend got this a few months back, and he just had to reformat.

    I'm a fan of reformatting, but you may not be.
     
  11. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I remember I had to permanently delete some files under AppData\Roaming\Google when I had this issue. Everytime I booted up they'd return and fuck up the DNS cache. Try flushing DNS and see if it goes away for a bit.
     
  12. Psionic Roshambo

    Member Psionic Roshambo GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    United States
    Download Virus Scan 2009 hehehehehe (Don't do it.... seriously its a virus/scamware.)
     
  13. DaggerV

    Member DaggerV Archmagi of the Emerald Moon

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    932
    Country:
    United States
    Had one that was a modem issue I guess someone managed to hack it, don't know if it's similar with you though.
     
  14. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know there are about a billion suggestions in this topic, but i encountered this last month and tried all these various fixes but turned up nothing. However, i have a paid for Avira Premium suite which after an update managed to clear it out.

    The Avira Antivirus is free iirc so that might be a good choice to run a scan with.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Modern malware can modify the DNS settings on routers that still have the default user/pass.
     
  16. Randamin

    Member Randamin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Laredo, TX
    Country:
    United States
    That used to happen to me with the firefox browser but a major update seemed to solve the problem.
     
  17. tofast4u
    OP

    Member tofast4u GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like the log isn't working, all I get is a blank notepad page. It says cannot find the "filename"
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Go to your program files folder, to the Trend Micro folder, and see if you can find the log somewhere in there.

    EDIT: Oh of all the fucking fdslgha

    Trendy Micro fucked up and the thing's an MSI now that installs itself to program files, but also tries to write there while not running as admin, AND they put a custom shortcut up that doesn't have the admin option.

    You'll have to browse to the folder it installs to, right-click it, and run it as admin. Then it can scan and make a log.
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your post reads like you scanned a lot already. so i wanted to ask, what router do you have?

    we have a linksys (by cicso) here with a known firmware issue. the router's IP gets put as the DNS so the router makes it impossible to visit some pages, it redirects, etc. i also experienced this about 40% of the time. i fixed it by manually entering google's dns servers (8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4) both in the router and my pc, now i have no more issues.

    -another world
     
  20. tofast4u
    OP

    Member tofast4u GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Ran it as Admin, and it did the trick here is the log file.
    http://pastebin.com/VUTQ7nS6
     

Share This Page