How to reflash a lite-on ??

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Golfje, Nov 2, 2009.

Nov 2, 2009

How to reflash a lite-on ?? by Golfje at 8:37 AM (4,155 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Golfje
    OP

    Member Golfje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey Guys,

    I have a xbox360 with a lite-on drive running Ixtreme 1.51.
    Now i want to reflash this drive when ixtreme 1.61 comes out.

    What do i have to do ???

    I have the original firmware files, like dummy.bin and so on...

    What must i do ??

    - Hook up xbox360 by sata on PC
    - Startup Jungleflash
    - Load the old firmware dummy.bin (load source Firmware)
    - Load the new firmware (open target Firmware)
    - click on spoof source to target
    - click on save to file
    - go to MTK flash 32
    - click on Lite-On erase
    - and at last click on Write

    Is this above right or am i missing something ?
    -
     
  2. Sc4rFac3d

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Instead of loading the old firmware, just read the firmware off your liteon drive. That way you're sure the drive is recognised.

    You using CK3 tool or something? Did someone flash it for you or did you do it yourself? Might have to probe the drive unless it has been soldered before.
     
  3. Golfje
    OP

    Member Golfje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands

    The first time somebody else have flashed the xbox360... Now i want to do it myself.... I dont have a ck3 tool or something just a sate cable to connect on pc
     
  4. perkele

    Member perkele GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Finland
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Perfect.

    I believe Jungleflasher will do the liteon erase even if you do not click it (as in after you press write it will erase it) but doing it the way you just tapped out is the normal/suggested way anyway and some people like to power cycle the drive after an erase*.

    *if you do this it will not be as easily detected on power on (as in you can not just press it and it will autodetect like you did the first time) but the port it was on should have been saved, worst case scenario here is you have to open the drive and hit the manual eject bar to set the drive half way/back in vendor mode (the eject logic was part of the firmware which you just erased).

    edit: got beaten the punch and perkele's link is good but if for some reason you wanted to dump it again a flashed liteon has the ability to dump data over sata with no special measures (a probe).
     
  6. Golfje
    OP

    Member Golfje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands

    Have somebody a step to step turtuial for reflashing a lite-on ??
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is the same as flashing a normal liteon but you skip the probe step as you should already have the necessary files.
     
  8. Golfje
    OP

    Member Golfje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey Guys

    By step to erase the firmware on the liteon i must power of the xbox360 drive, i have powered the xbox360 into the wall... Can i just pull it out and put it back in and turn the xbox360 on???

    Must i turn of the xbox360 ??? I'am using a onboard sata controller

    I don't have any hardware for flashing because it is flashed already to 1.51.
     
  9. Sc4rFac3d

    Member Sc4rFac3d GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,629
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's dangerous, but it should work. Don't power off your 360, instead pull the power (white) cable from the drive.

    Check around Xboxscene or some other site to see people who have succesfully done this before bricking your drive and potentially your mobo. Like I said, it's dangerous but it should work in theory.
     

Share This Page