How to install IOS247?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by spacerobot, Jan 3, 2009.

Jan 3, 2009

How to install IOS247? by spacerobot at 4:52 PM (4,237 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. spacerobot
    OP

    Newcomer spacerobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to install IOS247 to use with softchip, and even though I am connected to the internet I am getting a network error when it tries to connect. I read that I need to download the offline installation files and put them on my sd card, but I have not been able to find the right ones. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks
     
  2. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    What do you want? Install IOS247, just means, instally ANY IOS as IOS247. Do you want the rev6 cIOS for DL games, do you want a cIOS37 for Rock Band instruments, or do you want a "normal" cIOS for backup launching? You can install all these cIOS as IOS247.
     
  4. spacerobot
    OP

    Newcomer spacerobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry. I have proven my n00bness. I am trying to install an older cIOS from 0.3 beta to use with softchip. I was having a hard time with SSBB DVD9 and I read that the beta of backuplauncher had dvd9 support. What is the best IOS to install for that? the 0.3 beta? I currently have 0.3 gamma installed with IOS249 I think.
     
  5. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    beta worked fine for SBBdvd9, if you install rev 6 to ios247 then you'll need a version of beta that uses 247 and not 249, other wise it will not work
     
  6. spacerobot
    OP

    Newcomer spacerobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    So if I install rev 6 to IOS247 and use softchip and point it to use IOS247 it should work?
     
  7. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep that'll about do it
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, you only need to find a rev6 installer for IOS247. Or you need to modify the standard cIOS36rev6 IOS249 installer on your own.
     
  9. spacerobot
    OP

    Newcomer spacerobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. Thanks everyone. I'll have to look around for an installer. If anyone knows of one could you let me know?

    Thanks.
     
  10. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Does this rev6 installer downloads the files from the server or does it also work with the needed files in SD:/00000001/ ?

    //EDIT:
    Yes, It can use the files from SD!
     
  12. spacerobot
    OP

    Newcomer spacerobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks everyone!
     
  13. icebeam17

    Newcomer icebeam17 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, just to clarify (kinda new here) I just run the file that nutta posted in homebrew and then select ios 247 from softchip to get this to work, or do I have to do other things as well? Sorry for the newb question ive been searching through this site trying to figure this out for like 3 hours now but its all still a bit complicated for me =(
     

Share This Page