** How To Install Custom IOS36_rev8 For Dummies **

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by BIG MOE, Mar 15, 2009.

Mar 15, 2009
  1. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    ok let's hope this will be as clear as a smile on a cute face [​IMG]

    Internet Install :
    1- rename (rev8.dol to boot.dol) and put it in a folder (IOS36_rev8 Installer) and put it in (APPs) folder .
    2- run HBC and look for (IOS36_rev8 Installer) and run it .
    3- when prompt choose internet install and it should do it [​IMG] .

    Wad Install :
    1- rename (rev8.dol to boot.dol) and put it in a folder (IOS36_rev8 Installer) and put it in (APPs) folder .
    2- put (IOS36-64-v1042.wad) in the root of SD Card .
    3- run HBC and look for (IOS36_rev8 Installer) and run it .
    4- when prompt choose Wad install and it should do it [​IMG] .

    enjoy and regards from Big Moe [​IMG]
    many thanks to a good buddy and a great Wii Warrior Waninkoko [​IMG]
     


  2. antimatter

    Newcomer antimatter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi!
    I got a few questions. A while ago, like last november i softmodded my wii following one of the tutorials on this site. I'm starting the backup launcher gamma from my hbc and start my backups from there. i also had to run a cios installer back then. most of the games worked with that, except those that give the error 001/002. my backup launcher gamma tells me i have ios 249 installed. now to fix this error thing i went around and installed the ios36 rev8. was that even the right thing to do, because i saw many people talking about how that update is not needed and stuff. how do i find out what ios i have installed?
     
  3. kublai

    Member kublai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    United States
    Big Moe,

    Any chance of updating your instructions and the installer pack that you created to include this step?
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I know I may look like a noob by saying this but....

    YOUR GUIDE ROCKS DUDE!!!
     
  5. shadoxXx

    Newcomer shadoxXx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Germany
    this sucking "guide" doesnt even deserve the name "guide"
     
  6. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    oh sorry bro , I've never realized that my finger went through your @ss to force you to read this guide , it is simple but helpful to many people that don't have your awesome skills , and didn't master the Wii hacking methods like your @ss did , so please except my deep apologies and I will pull my finger out as soon as I get a chance to [​IMG] peace
     
  7. antimatter

    Newcomer antimatter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Belgium
    ah okay. so now i can play games that have the 001/2 error with my old backup launcher gamma? what are the downsides of this ios36_rev8 anyway?
     
  8. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    no down sides , but you still have to get the Gamma loader that have 002 fix , either in a ( dol file ) or in a ( channel ) along with installing this ( cIOS36_rev8 ) good luck [​IMG]
     
  9. Bobbarooskie

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Nice guide, much appreciated!
     
  10. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    you welcome buddy , the idea is to make things simple and easy for everyone , and I thinks I did that here , and always been glad to help the community [​IMG] peace
     
  11. sgwiiboy

    Member sgwiiboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you dont! The whole point of CIOS36 Rev 8 is that you DO NOT need Gamma with 002 Fix. The CIOS has a fix for 001 and 002 errors.
     
  12. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    theoretically you are correct , however pikmin only worked somehow with 002 fixed Gamma Channel and I'm checking why is that happened though cIOS36_ver8 should have solved it , once this one is solved then you are %100 correct [​IMG]
     
  13. kublai

    Member kublai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    United States
    I don't care what anyone else says, but I used your guide and pak you put together on 4 Wiis and they all worked prefect. After using your guide and installing the latest IOS36_rev8 I'm able to test the latest releases without the #02 errors.
     
  14. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    thanks again buddy , happy for the results [​IMG]
     
  15. Azariel_z

    Member Azariel_z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Turkey
    Just a "IOSXX" noobs question.. [​IMG] is this guide useful to enable old firmares ( like mine 3.1 U ) to play games that requires newer Firmwares? Like Madworld, Sonic and the Black knight etc?
    If that s the case thank you very much , I have a Wasabi V3 wich blocks updates, but even so the game gave me a goooood black screen, and i was wondering if something like this would help. I dont use soft loaders, jsut the chip.

    Thanks!
     
  16. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    No, this will not help with those games. What you need to do with those older games is to extract the IOSes you need from the disc itself (there are 3, do a search to find their exact numbers as I can't remember them off the top of my head)

    You just need WUFE, or FTPii to extract them from the wii, or using wiiscrubber if you plan on pulling the updates from an ISO file.
     
  17. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    you need to do softmod along with your modchip to be able to play those games , cause you have to install this cIOS36_rev8 along with IOS38,53,and 55 and to do so you have to have TPH and HBC to run WadManager1.3 for installation , to obtain such installer please click on the first link in my signature [​IMG] good luck
     
  18. Azariel_z

    Member Azariel_z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    Turkey
    Ops, I forgot to mention I already had the HBC and the twilight hack ( I just dont use loaders to play backup ) ,

    So as i understood, what I need is to install those IOS mentioned above ( cIOS36_rev8 along with IOS38,53,and 55 ) each one as a wad... is there any order to install them? Also, do I need to repeat the procedure everytime to enable the game ( like is this patchign the menu temporary or permanent? ) Oh, and thanks for the answers. Already helps a lot a guide for "noobs", is 50% work done. [​IMG]
     
  19. morbo

    Newcomer morbo Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Mexico
    So i need to uninstall IOS rev 7 with AnyTitleDeleter and then install rev 8 or it overwrites the previous installation?
     
  20. BIG MOE
    OP

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    you don't have to delete it the cIOS36_rev8 Will over write it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page