How To Get WiiWare Working

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by djda, Jun 9, 2009.

Jun 9, 2009

How To Get WiiWare Working by djda at 2:37 AM (8,598 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. djda
    OP

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
    I have been seeing post after post of people asking how to get WiiWare working. So after making this guide a while back (Edited from Eeyoregurl27's guide) I have decided to create this topic.
    It is quite unnecessary and i admit it but to help some people and save some unnecessary topics here it is

    *NOTE* The below applies for English and NTSC some settings will change for other regions.

    Tools needed:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Before you begin:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    How to crack:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    However if you would like to avoid doing this to every wad you could always install the up to date and necessary IOS's for the WiiWare including but not limited to IOS 38,53 and 55.
     


  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Mmmm......who's asking..?? [​IMG]
     
  3. djda
    OP

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
  4. JimmyBobAlex

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    For most cases I would say it's probably just easier to install the necessary IOS and not have to deal with patching each individual wad you come across. Plus by installing IOS 38/53/55/etc you're killing two birds with one stone since full retail disc games run off them too.

    This to me is more of a secondary method when you come across a problem.
     
  5. djda
    OP

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
    I will edit the first post to include your views. Just posted this to help some people.
     
  6. JimmyBobAlex

    Member JimmyBobAlex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that's fine, I'm not saying there's anything wrong with what you did. Also the wwpacker unpacker.bat is handy because it tells you the necessary IOS required when first unpacking a wad.
     
  7. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    good thin

    im tired of people askin
    slows down the forum sooo much
     
  8. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    an unnecessary topic to avoid unnecessary topics. Wow great job
     
  9. djda
    OP

    Member djda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Barbados
    As stated above any further contributions greatly appreciated. And thank you i do think it is a great job.
     
  10. kezza825

    Newcomer kezza825 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    MakeKeyBin generated 2 key files, key.bin & kkey.bin. Which one shall I move to the wwpacker folder?
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    key.bin

    kkey is for korean wii's


    edit: wait a sec, why do you need this tutorial?
    Most WiiWare works if you install its IOS
     
  12. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,497
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Wait.. Why key.bin ? WiiWare works fine using WadManager and Homebrew Channel. I don't understand why you need key.bin for Wii?
     
  13. kezza825

    Newcomer kezza825 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't want to change my IOS because I don't want to mess with anything incase my games will stop working with NeoGamma and USBLoader GX
     
  14. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    This tutorial is quite old too
    Maybe it was bumped by coincidence...


    But as I said: if some Wiiware isn't working you need to update some IOSs
    If you have the wad of the Wiiware game, you can use ShowMiiWads to see what IOS it needs
     
  15. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    facepalm on my self
     
  16. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Noone here is sharing it [​IMG]
     
  17. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States

    Dont you see the link? [​IMG]
     
  18. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Can't you read? [​IMG]
     
  19. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States

    Lol

    Wait what?
     
  20. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium

    aka he linked the generator, NOT the key.bin


    You have to be careful with what you say here
    I once got warned for something like this (luckily the warn was removed after 20 mins when the mod found out [​IMG])
     

Share This Page