Tutorial  Updated

How to edit Memory and change in-game values (NSwitchDebugger)

NSwitchDebugger tutorial
original post
The goal is to check addresses until we find the correct one with the value we want to change. we do this by starting game multiple time and with process of deduction we can find it

prerequisites

Download above file
  1. extract SDfiles to your sd card (if you already have latest hekate skip this step)
  2. extract NSwitchDebuger to sd card overwriting files
  3. enter RCM mode and select "NSDebugger"
Once in game note what items you wish to edit (coin count) then hit home
  • Start homebrew menu and run NSwitchDebugger
image.png
  • Now use UP and Down to select the game by title id
    • flip threw until you see Application name where it says Apllication in image
keep in mind a game may have multiple processes running you may have to try bellow a few times until you find results
  • Hit A, should show Success
image.png

The next screen will appear
image.png
  • If you know the address this is where you would enter it...
    • Also if you see below We are our of range
Code:
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
  • We dont know the address for this guide so we will need to search for our value
    • note: we now need to know how wide are the offset is lets say we are editing coins we note that coin count can go up to 9999999 so we use 8 bytes, lets say we are editing a item that can go up to 9999 so 4 bytes, 99 would be 2. we would change between them by hitting L and R
  • Hit X to search for value so lets say we are editing 1234 coins in SMO
  • use L and R to change byte size 2,4,8) use d-pad LEFT and RIGHT to move between digits and UP and DOWN to match 1234
    • it is easier to hit d-pad left a few places to change numbers to higher values instead of going from 1 to 1234
image.png
  • Now hit A to do the search
you will see below as searches through addresses
image.png
If you only found one or two offsets you do not need to exit and restart
  • After the search hit home
    • we will now spend coins and re-search the stored offsets from prior search
If you find more than one addresses you will want to open game again and spend a couple coins re-search with Y.
  • Restart nswitchdebugger repeat above but hit Y instead of X to repeat search
    • this should narrow search down to a couple or one hit
  • If you still getting many hits open game up again and spend more coins and re-search again with Y
When your search is done and narrowed down it will take you to first found address hit (hit L and R to change addresses if multiple hits). Now we can do our edit
(I was only looking for number 1 for this screenshot to write this guide, assume I spent 1233 coins)
image.png
  • The following is now where we do our value changing
    • note: write down the address listed as you will use it in future to do this mod without doing the whole searching method
  • We will now press A to change 4D2 to 5F5E0FF (again for guide i did 1 to 2)
we will now see bellow
image.png
  • press up or down to change number left or right to change column
    • note: we can also change byte size here but keep in mind this could break game if writing back a too large value
image.png
rinse and repeat until you see your coins in-game change, continue the same for other values to get the result's desired

Here is a Video Tutorial



Congratulations you have now patched memory, Enjoy!:grog:
 

Attachments

  • 2018062719292500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719292500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 907
  • 2018062719294000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719294000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    49.7 KB · Views: 723
  • 2018062719295000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719295000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 707
  • 1234.jpg
    1234.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 704
  • searching.jpg
    searching.jpg
    109.1 KB · Views: 684
  • address_after_found.jpg
    address_after_found.jpg
    102.3 KB · Views: 670
  • changing_value.jpg
    changing_value.jpg
    24.4 KB · Views: 672
  • seccessful_changed.jpg
    seccessful_changed.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 727
Last edited by Type_O_Dev,

Type_O_Dev

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
683
Trophies
0
XP
1,469
Country
United States
Dont understand the Tutorial. Lol.
Can you make a Video Tutorial?
for you and any other struggling with the guide



--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

ok, i've edited the two address, when i return to the game, the value is still not changed, i've bought spend some cells, but still decreasing.
the way that i am using this app is open the game, then look at the value, press home and open the homebrew app, search until there is 1-2 address.
i've changed both, back to the game, but there is no change. maybe after the change it didn't save?

the final photo looks like this
Looks like you have wrong address

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'm kind of having a problem as to it freezing when I select my game. Botw cartridge. Like it starts to load the game but freezes on the switch symbol at the bottom right. I am on 5.1.0 so will that be the cause?
When launching Hekate try one of the other options under NSwitchDebugger menu
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,029
Country
Saudi Arabia
for you and any other struggling with the guide



--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Looks like you have wrong address

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


When launching Hekate try one of the other options under NSwitchDebugger menu

i ended up with 2 address. and edit them both, it didn't works.
it's from this game i think, it's very cryptic.
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,703
Trophies
2
XP
6,267
Country
i ended up with 2 address. and edit them both, it didn't works.
it's from this game i think, it's very cryptic.
for some games the value doesn't show up on the screen instantly after edit, it might shows up after changing to a different screen or after gain/lose some
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,029
Country
Saudi Arabia
Hmm, i think i forgot how to change the value, i press left and right to change from
00001 to 00010
I can't change to to 04200
 

Type_O_Dev

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
683
Trophies
0
XP
1,469
Country
United States
Hmm, i think i forgot how to change the value, i press left and right to change from
00001 to 00010
I can't change to to 04200
Your only changing the hex value (which then are converted and show below as dec) I usually get as close as i can to dec value im looking for and hit R to go back to first digit. then do my final adjustments
 

Type_O_Dev

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
683
Trophies
0
XP
1,469
Country
United States
So you are tested in 5.0 with latest hekate?
Yes, edit your hekate_ipl.ini and add
Code:
{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/loader.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
 

larcrider

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2015
Messages
48
Trophies
0
XP
335
Country
Indonesia
Yes, edit your hekate_ipl.ini and add
Code:
{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/loader.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
Ok thank you, 1 more question maybe out of topic. Right now I am using reinx, is it my game and save data safe when change to hekate and using Nswitchdebugger?
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,703
Trophies
2
XP
6,267
Country
Ok thank you, 1 more question maybe out of topic. Right now I am using reinx, is it my game and save data safe when change to hekate and using Nswitchdebugger?
save data is store in system not on SD card
but, you should always backup your save before using cheats or do any modifications to the game if you value your save
 
  • Like
Reactions: Type_O_Dev

Dakilla

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
100
Country
Portugal
Yes as long as you configure hekate_ipl.ini haven't tried with 6.0
I'm on 6.0
I can read the memory but somehow I stopped being able to write to memory!
Does anyone happen to know an alternative homebrew, or instead and better yet, how I can make NSwitchDebugger work fully again?
I'm on ReiNX btw
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,703
Trophies
2
XP
6,267
Country
I'm on 6.0
I can read the memory but somehow I stopped being able to write to memory!
Does anyone happen to know an alternative homebrew, or instead and better yet, how I can make NSwitchDebugger work fully again?
I'm on ReiNX btw
what happens when you tried to write value? any error codes or somwthing?
 

Dakilla

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
100
Country
Portugal
what happens when you tried to write value? any error codes or somwthing?
No error... simply the value doesn't change, meaning the result shows exactly the value it was and not the one I tried to change into!
I've been poking around and I managed to change a test address when I loaded NSDebugger from hecate, but as far as I know I can't run the games that way... I'm still trying to get it working, but I'd appreciate some tips if anyone has them...
Currently I just reformated my exFat and am putting every thing related to Jailbreak from the start!

You see, I updated because I wanted to update my "SD to exFat" and although I knew I could do it on 5.1 I read you could still use ReiNX on 6.0 so I just went the easy way and updated... I backup the files before formating the SD card and then reposted all the contents into it and updated what files needed to be updated leaving perhaps files that shouldn't be there on the card... So, again, I'm redoing everything, hopefully this works :)
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,703
Trophies
2
XP
6,267
Country
No error... simply the value doesn't change, meaning the result shows exactly the value it was and not the one I tried to change into!
I've been poking around and I managed to change a test address when I loaded NSDebugger from hecate, but as far as I know I can't run the games that way... I'm still trying to get it working, but I'd appreciate some tips if anyone has them...
Currently I just reformated my exFat and am putting every thing related to Jailbreak from the start!

You see, I updated because I wanted to update my "SD to exFat" and although I knew I could do it on 5.1 I read you could still use ReiNX on 6.0 so I just went the easy way and updated... I backup the files before formating the SD card and then reposted all the contents into it and updated what files needed to be updated leaving perhaps files that shouldn't be there on the card... So, again, I'm redoing everything, hopefully this works :)
perhaps, the address you found is not the real address. if you successfully edited the value on the game when you were on 5.1 and not able to do it on the same game on 6.0 then there might be a compatiability issue
one quick test would be just load NSwitchDebugger then push A to edit the address it is showing , without searching, and see if it would change
 
  • Like
Reactions: Type_O_Dev

Dakilla

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
100
Country
Portugal
perhaps, the address you found is not the real address. if you successfully edited the value on the game when you were on 5.1 and not able to do it on the same game on 6.0 then there might be a compatiability issue
one quick test would be just load NSwitchDebugger then push A to edit the address it is showing , without searching, and see if it would change
Yes...as I said, loading NSDebugger on it's own allows me to change the addresses... but I can't launch game, I think :S right?
 

Dakilla

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2018
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
100
Country
Portugal
I don't understand, first you said the value doesn't change, now you said you can't launch game
Never mind actually, thanks but I actually made it work!
It looks that it doesn't allow me to change the value if I load the payload "ReiNX.bin" and then open the debugger through homebrew launcher (like it used to)...
but it works if I launch NSDebugger from heckate :)
I just couldn't load games when launching that thing from heckate, but now I can... thanks for trying to help ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Type_O_Dev

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: Yeah agreed