How to Dual Boot Android with almost any OS

Discussion in 'General Tutorials' started by Zerosuit connor, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys this tutorial will show you how to install Android as a dual boot to most OS. You do not need a touchscreen for this, all you need is a mouse and keyboard. Wifi works brilliantly as do most features.


    Latest Build:
    Feb 27, 2012 3:38 AM android-x86-4.0-RC1

    Features:
    • Kernel 2.6.35.7, KMS enable
    • Wifi support with GUI
    • Ethernet configuration GUI
    • Better disk installer
    • Power Suspend/resume (S3 mode)
    • Battery Status
    • Software mouse cursor
    • Mouse wheel
    • Support netbook native resolution
    • Audio (ALSA)
    • V4l2 Camera support
    • External monitor support
    • External storage auto mount support
    • Support external keyboard
    • Debug mode with busybox
    • Bluetooth

    For this particular job you need:
    A Laptop or PC
    A blank Disc or USB at least 512Mb in size
    An Internet Connection
    The latest build of the x86 Android (can be developer preview or a release candidate) Downloaded from http://www.android-x86.org/download
    A harddrive with at 5Gb of space.
    Unetbootin
    A Windows PC, or a Virtual Machine, or Wine, or a program that allows you to open .exe files on other OS

    Step 1. Download the x86 Android from the website. Preferably 4.0, for most laptops and PC's, use the download with ASUS in its name.

    Step 2. Download UnetBootIn if you are using a USB from here http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/ or IMGburn from here
    http://download.imgb...urn_2.5.6.0.exe

    Step 3. Place the ISO file you have downloaded in a folder on your desktop.
    If you are using a USB follow step 4A, If you are using a Disc follow step 4B

    Step 4A. Run UnetBootIn and select diskimage at the bottom of the program. Click the ... to choose the .iso file we saved to our desktop remember? Select USB drive at the bottom of the page and choose the directory letter. We don't have to worry about anything else for now so press okay.

    Step 4B. Run IMGburn, Press write to disc and select the .iso file on our desktop by pressing the folder and navigating our way there, for destination choose the disc drive with your blank CD/DVD inside it and press the .iso to disc button under it. Allow it to do it's thing.

    Step 5. Open up your start menu for windows users. Open my computer and right click your C: drive. Storage --> Properties . Check that it has the space we need and that it is formatted to NTFS. This should be done by default but be sure just in case.

    **I reccomend you back up your important files at this point, just in case :) **

    Step 6. Insert your disc/usb into a drive and restart your computer.

    Step 7. Open your Bios/Boot Options and set your USB/CD or DVD to first priority.

    Step 8. Allow the computer to read the file and you should see a dialogue appear, choose install android to hard disk
    .
    Step 9. Choose your partition, this is where it gets tricky as linux doesn't show the names of partitions, my C: drive is always the third, but yours could be anyone one of them, It can only be an NTFS drive so try one.

    Step 10. Now it should ask you about format options select don't format.

    Step 11. It will ask to install Grub Loader, Select yes (this is our multiboot utility)

    Step 12. Now if it is the correct drive it should say a The installer found a Windows Partition. If It said that skip to Step 14. If it hasn't go to step 13.

    Step 13. Restart your computer and repeat steps 8 - 12 but select a different NTFS drive until the program tells you it found the windows partition.

    Step 14. It will now say "do you want to install /system directory as read-write?" Select Yes. It will now begin installing Android.

    Step 15. It will ask you to create a disc image, select yes, this allows it to save your apps/work/android setup

    Step 16. It will prompt you to set the space in Mb the image can take in MegaBytes. I reccomend 1Gb, so type 1024 or any other amount of space you want. This may take a while, feel like a break? Go have one.

    Step 17. Now you can select create a fake sd card, to store your system files in, type 1024. I haven't figured out how to access this in windows yet but, create one anyway to store phone files I suppose.

    Step 18. Now reboot your PC/Laptop

    Step 19. Now you can choose your boot options. This will happen everytime you boot your PC or Laptop. Upon first boot android may take a small time to load.

    Step 20. Set up your Google account. And away you go.


    Known Bugs Within Android 4.0 Release Candidates:
    Yay! Bugs in The Release Candidate!
    Known Models of PC That Are Compatible:

    Known Models Of Laptop That Are Compatible:
    Acer Aspire One
    Asus EeePc Series
    Dell Inspiron Mini Duo
    Samsung Q1U
    Viewsonic Viewpad 10
    Lenovo ThinkPad x61 Tablet


    Have questions?
    Feel free to ask.

    Also If you used this be sure to rate it. This will have pictures added soon.
     
    2 people like this.


  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of Ninesky I would suggest Dolphin Browser HD, it's loads better than any other browser on Android.
     
  3. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    Does Not Work, why do you think i didnt post it?
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Are...you sure? I'm using it on the VM I have and it works fine...
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,788
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Any chance you can add something for Linux Ubuntu or Fedora?
    Or even how to Tri-Boot?
     
  6. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    It is not working, I am looking at it right now, a virtual machine is different to the real thing.
    Ninesky = working fine at a reasonable speed.


     
  7. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,820
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    If it doesn't work on one it wouldn't work on the other.
     
  8. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    I will prove it right now.

    Also the screen orientation is portrait, laptops and PC use landscape. *edit* oreintation fixed
     
  9. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent, installing now. (:
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Luckkill4u

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    Isnt it Acer Aspire One?
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have any issues tell me :)
     
  12. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    Proof Dolphin Doesn't work:
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Black screen on both Hd and Lite dolphin.
     
  13. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    Some apps may not be found in the Marketplace, to get these find them on the internet and install them trough a file-manager. Also after installing please check windows boots correctly.
     
  14. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    It throws me a screen that says it's not an ASUS or something like that.
    I'll take a picture in a few.
     
  15. emmanu888

    Member emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Victoriaville,Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    just ignore that warning it will work anyway
     
  16. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I only let it sit for a few minutes, then I turned it off. Should I just wait it out for a while?
     
  17. emmanu888

    Member emmanu888 6 years and still going strong

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,221
    Location:
    Victoriaville,Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm thats wierd did you take the eeepc version thats the one i installed
     
  18. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give that one a try, I tried the one recommended in this guide "
    android-x86-4.0-asus_laptop-20120101.iso".​
     
  19. Zerosuit connor
    OP

    Member Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Eorzea
    Country:
    Australia
    Yep, thats correct, I get that upon booting. It will say that every time you boot. But it still loads android brilliantly.


     
  20. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's worth noting that the setup should take note of a Windows installation no matter where it's being installed to; I installed it to an SD card and it still noted Windows 7 on the main drive and let me add it to the bootloader. That being the case, I'd recommend changing the guide to reflect this; while you could let the bootloader do what it wants with your Windows partition, I think setting aside a partition in advance (and making a note of which partition that is in advance) is probably a safer idea idea.

    Also, I don't think you need more than 5-6GB of space, do you? I might be wrong here, but it seems like the system files take up around 350MB, and the data and sdcard images are maxed out at 2GB each. Since all the data would be written to those two images, I don't believe there would be anything written anywhere else on the partition.
     

Share This Page