how do you edit the banner.bin?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by rawrdude123, Mar 29, 2009.

Mar 29, 2009
  1. rawrdude123
    OP

    Newcomer rawrdude123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    im translating ragnarok ds

    like darthnemesis's soma bringer he put "Translated by DarthNemesis"

    how do you do that? i PMed him and he said "Editing banner.bin"

    but how? O_O
     
  2. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    banner.bin
    0x240
    there are 6 255 byte blocks
    edit those
     
  3. rawrdude123
    OP

    Newcomer rawrdude123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    but how? is there some kind of program of some sort? O_O

    what do you mean by 0x240 and "there are 6 255 byte blocks"
     
  4. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    use any hex editor
    The text is in unicode
    banner.bin
    offset 0x240
    there are 6 repeating 255 byte sized sections
    edit each 6 blocks
     
  5. Naxito

    Newcomer Naxito Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    RomeR, edit icon and banner
     
  6. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Honestly if you don´t know how to edit the banner.bin how will you translate the game !?
    And anyway there is already a Ragnarok DS translation project.
     
  7. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    true.

    If you don't know what I said, then how are you translating ragnarok DS?
     

Share This Page