How do I UnBrick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cthg, Mar 27, 2009.

Mar 27, 2009

How do I UnBrick by cthg at 3:11 PM (1,572 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. cthg
    OP

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    Ok here's my situation...

    I HAD a wii

    system menu 3.4U
    HBC installed
    cIOS249 rev8 installed
    no starfall
    no preloader
    no twilight hack on the memory because 3.4 auto deletes it.

    I ran Waninkoko's 4.0 firmware updater
    it downloaded everything and installed all the IOS
    I saw that it said it was downloading 4.0U so its not a bad region problem.
    after it installed it said installed successfully press and key to restart

    I press a key and it goes black and does not reboot...
    after I hold the power for 5 seconds and boot it again its just black screen
    BRICKED


    How do you guys think I should unbrick this?

    I have a gamecube controller I'd be willing to open but and I'd consider buying a savemii but I'd really rather not get a modchip!

    HELP
     
  2. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    this is just a test,
    unplug your wii for about 10 seconds and connect it again and try
     
  3. Dr Eggman

    Member Dr Eggman I am THE Eggman.

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Eggmanland! (Toronto IRL)
    Country:
    Canada
    Truly, it could be a problem with the IOS or sysmenu. If it is with the IOS then you are screwed. If its with the sysmenu the recovery menu may work, or not. Try savemiifrii (the gc controller) but without the TW Hack i dont know if it is of any use. Other than that i dont know how you'd fix it without a chip


    And btw, bad region == semi-brick. With this, you can still enter the Wii menu, 'cept the settings give an opera 404 error. To fix this you can just use bushings semi-brick fix disc.
     
  4. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    cthg
    did you do it?
     
  5. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Well, in this case, if he has the HBC installed he can probably recover it (either by fixing the region settings or installing the proper System Menu from the region he meant to install).
     
  6. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    ok, ill explane ...
    yesterday i was playing MK online and the game just freezes, i hold on/off button to turn if off, turned it on again and i got a black screen... did it again and still the same...

    after i unplug the power for about 10 sec all was good [​IMG]

    and i'm still on 3.2
     
  7. cthg
    OP

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    yep, nothing
     
  8. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    how many blocks did you had before using the update?
     
  9. cthg
    OP

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    memory blocks? proly around 50 dont ios's install to nand though?


    also to anyone who has used wanin's updater what's the last thing it installs before it says to restart?
     
  10. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    that's exactly what i mean about NOT reading

    you have to have 300 block free for the Waninkoko's update

    you got a brick? serves you well for not reading and act like a kid whit a new toy...
    you don't read the instructions, you brick it
     
  11. cthg
    OP

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    seriously where the hell did it say that?
     
  12. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    exactly were you didn't read and should, i don't make things up

    search and you will find

    will any one deny me?
     
  13. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Actually Readme says: - 150-250 free blocks.

    I know 300 is better... and safer...

    But still why everyone says 300?
    Because the Readme is wrong write by wanky?
     
  14. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    just to be safe adr990
     
  15. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep, I would do 300 too, IF I would use this... [​IMG]
     
  16. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    smart ppl still around [​IMG]
    good to know
     
  17. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Since its bricked, can I call dibs on your Wii's DVD drive?
     
  18. cthg
    OP

    Member cthg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    I tried to do savemiifrii and I don't get anything
    does that mode work on 3.4+?
     
  19. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    (I dont think anything will fix this brick as IOS60 and the SystemMenu 4.0 may not have been installed....but you can still try.)

    Savemii without the Twilight Hack or the Trucha Signing bug (Firmware 3.2 and below unless you modified/patched the IOS) is pointless.

    You cant expect to be able to autoboot a custom homebrew app from a disc or autoboot Twilight Princess and then use the twilight hack to run a homebrew app on a Wii without either of those two.

    BUT you said you used Waninokoko's app. Meaning, the IOS should have been patched with the Trucha Bug.

    You need to get a Modchip if you want it to be fixed. (This may or may not work due to you not having enough blocks / IOS60 and 4.0 System Menu was not installed properly)

    Go attain a NTSC-U copy / regionfrii an autoboot disc and inject AnyRegionChanger into it and use it to downgrade back to 3.2 and start over.

    The other option to fixing this is if you are able to write to the NAND directly.
     

Share This Page